Wednesday, September 7, 2016

THE FALL OF HEAVEN BY ANDREW SCOTT COOPER

An immersive, gripping account of the rise and fall of Iran's glamorous Pahlavi dynasty, written with the cooperation of the late Shah's widow, Empress Farah, Iranian revolutionaries and US officials from the Carter administration
In this remarkably human portrait of one of the twentieth century's most complicated personalities, Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Andrew Scott Cooper traces the Shah's life from childhood through his ascension to the throne in 1941. He draws the turbulence of the post-war era during which the Shah survived assassination attempts and coup plots to build a modern, pro-Western state and launch Iran onto the world stage as one of the world's top five powers. Readers get the story of the Shah's political career alongside the story of his courtship and marriage to Farah Diba, who became a power in her own right, the beloved family they created, and an exclusive look at life inside the palace during the Iranian Revolution. Cooper's investigative account ultimately delivers the fall of the Pahlavi dynasty through the eyes of those who were there: leading Iranian revolutionaries; President Jimmy Carter and White House officials; US Ambassador William Sullivan and his staff in the American embassy in Tehran; American families caught up in the drama; even Empress Farah herself, and the rest of the Iranian Imperial family. Intimate and sweeping at once, The Fall of Heaven recreates in stunning detail the dramatic and final days of one of the world's most legendary ruling families, the unseating of which helped set the stage for the current state of the Middle East.


Product Details

  • File Size: 8473 KB
  • Print Length: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (August 2, 2016)
  • Publication Date: August 2, 2016
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English

LET'S GO CAMPING BY KATE BRUNING

You can crochet the camping trip of a lifetime with adorable, miniature projects that will delight adults and kids alike. You'll find all the camping gear you need for hours of creative play, including sleeping bags, backpacks, frying pans, picnic baskets, and much more. These easy-to-follow instructions plus your favorite yarn are all you need to create cute and collectible cabins, tents, boats, mountains, and trees for your dream campsite!
US terminology and measurements


Product Details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: That Patchwork Place (August 23, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1604688157
  • ISBN-13: 978-1604688153
Crochet all things camping-trees, forest, wigwams, tents, the list goes on. So cute! A must-own crochet book.

DON'T. UNLOCK THE DO IN DON'T. BY BOB SELDEN

How using the right words will positively impact your life. Have you ever wondered why some people seem to have all the luck? Well, "Don't" shows you how words impact those parts of the brain that make you either positive or negative. People who have a more positive outlook use more positive language. They see opportunities that others miss - they also generally see how these opportunities can be turned into real advantages. * "Don't" sets out those negative words and phrases to avoid - the ones that create negative thinking in your brain and result in negative behaviour - and then suggests some words and phrases that do just the opposite. The end result? You will start to use positive words, which activate the positive parts of your brain which then results in positive behaviour. * "Don't" will also enable you to better manage those difficult conversations that all of us have at some point. Sometimes it's a conversation we initiate, such as going to a job interview, at other times it's initiated by someone else, such as when a good friend wants help with a deep problem. Bob Selden will challenge some of your thinking on what makes some people more successful than others - is it luck? upbringing? opportunity? Or is it perhaps the words we use? Read his new book "Don't" and make the call!


Product Details

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Port Campbell Press (May 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 099445080X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0994450807


I love this book on interpersonal communication. How to speak to someone constructively. Changing your thinking when it comes to relationships with others. A very effective, well-written book. A must own book!

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

THE CANDLE MAKER BY JAMES RYAN ORR

The Candle Maker offers a refreshing glimpse into the journey of faith throughout the entirety of a lifetime. The story of Phillip and his quest to understand how and why there is a candle within his chest is compelling and reads like a parable guiding toward a profound truth. Phillip’s remarkable experience, the wide swing of all human emotion, travels the high, joyous peaks as well as the low, desolate valleys of life.


The Candle Maker follows Phillip through all the stages of his existence, from the warmth of a nurturing home, to the embrace of a true love, through the snares of those who would tempt to extinguish his inner flame, through great loss and absolute heartache, back again to a life rebuilt and life returned, and ultimately face to face with the Candle Maker, the creator of all light. Don’t let the brevity of The Candle Maker mislead you, within this small volume is a story that sings a grand truth that must be experienced by anyone walking the path of light.



Product Details

  • Series: Morgan James Fiction
  • Hardcover: 134 pages
  • Publisher: Morgan James Fiction; Lam edition (January 10, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1630479713
  • ISBN-13: 978-1630479718


All I can say is WOW! What an amazing book!  James Ryan Orr takes us through a journey of one boy, Phillip. Phillip's life. Phillips' candle burning inside him, his chest, near where his heart is. Phillip learns a lot about himself and the world around him. I will not say any more, as I do not want to give away the turns to this lovely book. A MUST READ! Thank you Mr. Orr for letting me be the first reviewer!

IN THE DARKROOM BY SUSAN FALUDI

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and bestselling author of Backlash, comes In the Darkroom, an astonishing confrontation with the enigma of her father and the larger riddle of identity consuming our age.
“In the summer of 2004 I set out to investigate someone I scarcely knew, my father. The project began with a grievance, the grievance of a daughter whose parent had absconded from her life. I was in pursuit of a scofflaw, an artful dodger who had skipped out on so many things―obligation, affection, culpability, contrition. I was preparing an indictment, amassing discovery for a trial. But somewhere along the line, the prosecutor became a witness.”
So begins Susan Faludi’s extraordinary inquiry into the meaning of identity in the modern world and in her own haunted family saga. When the feminist writer learned that her 76-year-old father―long estranged and living in Hungary―had undergone sex reassignment surgery, that investigation would turn personal and urgent. How was this new parent who identified as “a complete woman now” connected to the silent, explosive, and ultimately violent father she had known, the photographer who’d built his career on the alteration of images?
Faludi chases that mystery into the recesses of her suburban childhood and her father’s many previous incarnations: American dad, Alpine mountaineer, swashbuckling adventurer in the Amazon outback, Jewish fugitive in Holocaust Budapest. When the author travels to Hungary to reunite with her father, she drops into a labyrinth of dark histories and dangerous politics in a country hell-bent on repressing its past and constructing a fanciful―and virulent―nationhood. The search for identity that has transfixed our century was proving as treacherous for nations as for individuals.
Faludi’s struggle to come to grips with her father’s metamorphosis self takes her across borders―historical, political, religious, sexual--to bring her face to face with the question of the age: Is identity something you “choose,” or is it the very thing you can’t escape?



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Metropolitan Books (June 14, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 080508908X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805089080


I WILL SEND RAIN BY RAE MEADOWS

A luminous, tenderly rendered novel of a woman fighting for her family's survival in the early years of the Dust Bowl; from the acclaimed and award-winning Rae Meadows.
Annie Bell can't escape the dust. It's in her hair, covering the windowsills, coating the animals in the barn, in the corners of her children's dry, cracked lips. It's 1934 and the Bell farm in Mulehead, Oklahoma is struggling as the earliest storms of The Dust Bowl descend. All around them the wheat harvests are drying out and people are packing up their belongings as storms lay waste to the Great Plains. As the Bells wait for the rains to come, Annie and each member of her family are pulled in different directions. Annie's fragile young son, Fred, suffers from dust pneumonia; her headstrong daughter, Birdie, flush with first love, is choosing a dangerous path out of Mulehead; and Samuel, her husband, is plagued by disturbing dreams of rain.
As Annie, desperate for an escape of her own, flirts with the affections of an unlikely admirer, she must choose who she is going to become. With her warm storytelling and beautiful prose, Rae Meadows brings to life an unforgettable family that faces hardship with rare grit and determination. Rich in detail and epic in scope, I Will Send Rain is a powerful novel of upheaval and resilience, filled with hope, morality, and love.



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (August 9, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627794263
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627794268

Biography

Born in Brussels, Rae Meadows grew up in suburbs of Cleveland and San Diego before attending Stanford University as an Art History major. After years in advertising she wrote her first story, which led to local workshops and eventually the MFA program at the University of Utah. While in Salt Lake City, she answered phones at an escort service, the experience of which inspired her first novel.

Calling Out received the 2006 Utah Book Award for fiction and was named an Entertainment Weekly Must Read, a Book Sense Notable Novel, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, and one of the Best Books of 2006 by the Chicago Tribune. Meadows was also named one of five Poets & Writers Debut Writers to Watch. Her second novel, No One Tells Everything, was named a Notable Novel by Poets & Writers and was awarded Honorable Mention in the 2008 Anne Powers Fiction Prize. Mercy Train (released in hardback as Mothers and Daughters) was chosen as a Target Emerging Authors selection and has also been published in Italy, Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands, where it was a bestseller.

Her stories have appeared in various literary magazines including the Mississippi Review, Avery Anthology, and Washington Square, and her writing has also appeared online at Nerve, More Magazine, and NPR. She and Alex Darrow co-wrote the screenplay adaptation of Calling Out, optioned by Sound Pictures.

Meadows’s fourth novel, I Will Send Rain, is forthcoming, summer 2016, from Henry Holt. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, NY.

LIVING TO DIE. DYING TO LIVE BY C.D. LANE

On Feb the 10th 1987 I was told I would be dead in a year. This book of lies exposing the truths. This is my story, from my point of view with harsh revelations and very few pleasant realities. Nothing will be hidden from the world when the pages are all turned. This will be a shock to some and a joy to no one. Once the lies are all exposed, I expect some friends and family will never speak to me again. It was defense mechanisms to cover the truths. Living with HIV when I was diagnosed came with stigma, fear and shame. I didn't mean to hurt anyone, but once the lie was in place it stayed in play. Surviving many others who have gone before me in spite of my own self.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 254 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (May 27, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478775572
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478775577



Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Under the Stars-How America Fell In Love With Camping, by Dan White


“The definitive book on camping in America. . . . A passionate, witty, and deeply engaging examination of why humans venture into the wild.”Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild
From the Sierras to the Adirondacks and the Everglades, Dan White travels the nation to experience firsthand―and sometimes face first―how the American wilderness transformed from the devil’s playground into a source of adventure, relaxation, and renewal.
Whether he’s camping nude in cougar country, being attacked by wildlife while “glamping,” or crashing a girls-only adventure for urban teens, Dan White seeks to animate the evolution of outdoor recreation. In the process, he demonstrates how the likes of Emerson, Thoreau, Roosevelt, and Muir―along with visionaries such as Adirondack Murray, Horace Kephart, and Juliette Gordon Low―helped blaze a trail from Transcendentalism to Leave No Trace.
Wide-ranging in research, enthusiasm, and geography, Under the Stars reveals a vast population of nature seekers, a country still in love with its wild places.

*Fun adventures in this interesting book-A must-read for the camping fanatics*

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (June 14, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627791957
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627791953


Approval Junkie-Adventures in caring too much by Faith Salie

click to purchase

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait…Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of daring, funny essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval

Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it’s trying to impress her parents with a perfect GPA, undergoing an exorcism in the hopes of saving her toxic marriage, or maintaining the BMI of “a flapper with a touch of dysentery,” Salie is the ultimate approval seeker—an “approval junkie,” if you will.

In “Miss Aphrodite,” she recounts her strategy for winning the high school beauty pageant. (“Not to brag or anything, but no one stood a chance against my emaciated, spastic resolve.”) “What I Wore to My Divorce” describes Salie’s struggle to pick the perfect outfit to wear to the courthouse to divorce her “wasband.” (“I envisioned a look that said, ‘Yo, THIS is what you’ll be missing…even though you’ve introduced your new girlfriend to our mutual friends, and she’s a decade younger than I am and is also a fit model.”) In "Ovary Achiever," she shares tips on how to ace your egg retrieval. (“Thank your fertility doctor when she announces you have ‘amazing ovaries.’ Try to be humble about it [‘Oh,these old things?’].”) And in “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me About Batman’s Nipples” she reveals the secrets behind Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! (“I study for this show like Tracy Flick on Adderall”).

With thoughtful irreverence, Salie reflects on why she tries so hard to please others, and herself, highlighting a phenomenon that many people—especially women—experience at home and in the workplace. Equal parts laugh-out loud funny and poignant, Approval Junkie is one woman’s journey to realizing that seeking approval from others is more than just getting them to like you—it's challenging yourself to achieve, and survive, more than you ever thought you could.


About the Author

FAITH SALIE is an Emmy-winning contributor to CBS News Sunday Morning and a panelist on NPR’s Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! She also hosts the PBS show, Science Goes To The Movies. As a commentator on politics and pop culture, she’s been interviewed by the likes of Oprah Winfrey, Bill O’Reilly, and Anderson Cooper. As a television and public radio host, she herself has interviewed newsmakers from Lorne Michaels to President Carter to Robert Redford, who invited her to call him “Bob.” Faith attended Oxford University on a Rhodes scholarship, and while her fellow scholars went on to become governors and mayors, she landed on a Star Trek collectible trading card worth hundreds of cents.  She lives in New York City with her husband, two children, and her husband’s dog.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype; First Edition edition (April 19, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553419935
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553419931

 

How to Be You by Jeffrey Marsh, online sensation

click to purchase

This book is about how to finally give up on feeling bad about yourself and discover the best person you can be.

An interactive experience, How to Be You invites you to make the book your own through activities such as coloring in charts, answering questions about how you do the things you do, and discovering patterns in your lives that may be holding you back. Through Jeffrey's own story of "growing up fabulous in a small farming town"--along with the stories of hero/ines who have transcended the stereotypes of race, age, and gender--you will discover that you are not alone, can deepen your relationship with yourself, and find the courage to take a leap that will change your life.


About the Author

Host, author, and youth advocate Jeffrey Marsh has more than a quarter BILLION views across social media. As the creator of the global trends #DontSayThatsSoGay and #NoTimeToHateMyself, Jeffrey has earned spots on top Viner lists by both BuzzFeed and Vine with a positive, inclusive message. In 2015, Jeffrey was named official red carpet correspondent for both MTV/Logo and GLSEN and as a featured writer for The Huffington Post and Medium. Jeffrey is a precepted facilitator in the Soto Zen tradition of Buddhism, as well as a host, actor, singer, songwriter, dancer, and comedian.

CHAPTER 1: DON’T TRY TO BE PERFECT 

Sorry! Perfection doesn’t exist. Whoever taught you what it means to be “perfect” was making it up. Whoever taught them was making it up too. Perfection is a phony concept. It’s a phony set of standards. Where did the standards come from? How did they start? You can’t always be sure where your ideas about how you should be came from, but one thing to notice is that perfection often has a shifting definition. Over time, we as a society change our standards. And, yes, over time, you as an individual change your ideas about how to be perfect. What you think is the “perfect person thing to do” now may change in five years. It may change in five minutes. “Perfect” is a shifting, unclear, unreliable set of standards. Because of this, you will never meet the fake standards of perfection. This is awesome news! As soon as you give up the quest to be perfect according to some outside standard, you can start being you. Holy wow, I feel like that’s so im­portant I need to say it again. As soon as you give up the quest to be perfect according to some outside standard, you can start being you.

And there is a good reason you can’t meet the standards. You are a living, breathing human. That’s why no one can meet the standards. You are not some caged, bottle-able, sellable set of never-changing qualities. You are alive. And alive things change. It is constantly, always what you do. So you can either embrace change and get ex­cited about it—you can even start to love it—or you can try every­thing to freeze yourself into a perfect set of standards. Good luck with that second one. You can’t actually freeze yourself. But so many people just keep trying to freeze themselves; they keep trying to get to that perfect spot where they can be frozen and perfect and every­thing about their lives will work because they’ve done all the right things. Excuse me, but what kind of weird goal is that? Since when does trying to meet some passed-down fake standard of perfect equal a nice life?

It doesn’t. It equals a life of constantly trying. You might keep striving for an idea of perfection for the rest of your life. Many people do. And it is not worth it.

You’ll never get there. The standards for perfection shift and morph and climb so astronomically high that they are unattainable. Why spend your precious life trying to do something impossible?

It is not fun. Fun might not seem like an important criterion here, but why do something that is so unpleasant? If you could try to be perfect your whole life and have an awesome time doing it (even though it will never work), I’d say, “This is great. I’m so glad you’re having so much fun. Yippee!” But of course trying to meet false and shifting standards is actually the setup to making a bummer of your whole life.

I have a question. What’s the one thing about yourself that you were taught to hate? What’s the biggest thing that you were taught is imperfect about you? Have you struggled with that thing your whole life? Have you tried to change and change and change that thing? Would you call trying to change that thing fun?

The same thing goes for your life in general. It isn’t fun to try to control your circumstances; you can’t try to “make perfect” outside events so that you can feel more perfect inside. Making your outside environment perfect is unlikely to work because you can hardly control yourself, let alone anyone or anything else you see outside you. Your idea of perfection is based on a faulty assumption: that you are separate from the world and can judge how it should be. What if life has its own kind of perfection in it without your “help”? What if you, just as you are, are part of life’s perfection?

Product Details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: TarcherPerigee (August 2, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0143110128
  • ISBN-13: 978-0143110125
 

Monday, July 4, 2016

KITTY HAWK...THE CURSE OF THE YUKON GOLD by Iain Reading

click to purchase


Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new series of adventure mystery stories that are one part travel, one part history and five parts adventure. This first installment of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

Product Details

  • Series: Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency
  • Paperback: 270 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (December 3, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1502300877
  • ISBN-13: 978-1502300874

About the Author

I Like Root Beer. When I was younger I fancied myself a bit of a Root Beer connoisseur, drinking my favourite brand (A&W, of course) from tall, narrow champagne flûtes and revelled in the sound of the ice cubes clinking against the side of the thin glass, creating a magical tinkling ambiance as I looked down my nose at all the other inferior Root Beer vintages. As I grew older and began to travel all across the globe I was naturally inclined to seek out the very best Root Beers that the world had to offer. Sadly, as I was to discover, Root Beer is very much a North-American thing and you can't really find it anywhere else in the world. On the bright side, however, it turns out that the world is a pretty great place even without Root Beer. There are a million amazing things to see and as many more ways for all of us to see them, as our heroine and friend Kitty Hawk finds out in the course of her various adventures.

THE RANTINGS OF AN UNEDUCATED REACTIONARY by Oscar J. Phillips


Far different than most conservative books. . . Here is a new book from a first time author who, though only a high school graduate, has written some controversial yet intelligent opinions on an array of political matters. Mr. Phillips presents us with a thought-provoking analysis on sundry topical and philosophical issues. His is an intriguing book that anybody of any political stripe will find a fascinating read. Mr. Phillips has written a cerebrally stimulating collection of essays and random thoughts that anyone with just a junior high school education to a person with a PhD from Harvard, will find to be extremely interesting and educational. But be forewarned, the conservatism of his book is more than just contentious; it’s outright iconoclastic and subversive. And although the writings of Mr. Phillips are an absolute joy to read, it’s entirely possible that they could wreck psychological havoc on the intellectually dishonest. “Hyperbole”, say you. Maybe it is....but then again, maybe it isn’t.

Product Details

  • File Size: 884 KB
  • Print Length: 306 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press, Inc. (March 28, 2016)
  • Publication Date: March 28, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

click for purchase

Monday, June 27, 2016

Food With Friends. The Art of Simple Gatherings. by Leela Cyd

The best gatherings are simple, yet somehow special. They might begin with an impromptu picnic after shopping at the farmer’s market or a late lunch with neighbors that stretches into cocktails under the stars. Whatever the occasion, this picture-perfect cookbook shows how to turn any meal into a delectable affair. These effortless recipes for brunch, teatime, happy hours, picnics, potlucks, and dessert all include a whimsical twist: a few slices of French toast doused in lavender syrup, rainbow chard empanadas served with pistachio crema, or a vibrant purple cauliflower hummus. With tips on creating an inviting table, stocking a pantry to make last-minute nibbles, and packing delicious parting gifts for guests, Food with Friends will inspire any get-together, however large or small.



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter; Unabridged Edition edition (March 29, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804187096
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804187091

Leela Cyd is from Santa Barbara, California. She is a lifestyle and food photographer, shooting for editorial clients such as Sweet Paul magazine, Kinfolk and Conde Nast Traveler. Food with Friends: The Art of Simple Gatherings focuses on accessible, quick and joyful food to share.

Beet-pickled eggs, South Indian-Style Veg Cutlets, and Irish Soda Bread are just a few of the yummy looking recipes in this fabulous cookbook.  I absolutely loved this cookbook.  I enjoyed reading about the recipes for 'spa waters'. How fun and nutritious would that be!?  You must pick up this fun cookbook now!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Becoming Phoebe, by J. Michael Neal

Eighteen-year-old Phoebe Rose spent her childhood in one foster household after another, never having a place she could feel safe or group of friends she belonged to. What kept her going was hockey. The rink was the only place she felt at home.
     Now what she wants more than anything is to play on her college hockey team--to leave her past behind and start building a new life. But she knows things are never that simple. Becoming Phoebe is about painful secrets, unexpected friendships, and joining a team so you can become your true self.

Becoming Phoebe won a Bronze Medal for Best Regional Fiction - Midwest from the 2016 IPPY Awards.




 

Product Details

  • Paperback: 422 pages
  • Publisher: Melancholy Donkey Press (February 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0997025808
  • ISBN-13: 978-0997025804

Never a Dull Moment: 1971 The Year That Rock Exploded

A rollicking look at 1971 - the busiest, most innovative and resonant year of the 70s, defined by the musical arrival of such stars as David Bowie, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and Joni Mitchell
On New Year's Eve, 1970, Paul McCartney told his lawyers to issue the writ at the High Court in London, effectively ending The Beatles. You might say this was the last day of the pop era.
The following day, which was a Friday, was 1971. You might say this was the first day of the rock era. And within the remaining 364 days of this monumental year, the world would hear Don McLean's "American Pie," The Rolling Stones' "Brown Sugar," The Who's "Baba O'Riley," Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven," Rod Stewart's "Maggie May," Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On," and more.
David Hepworth, an ardent music fan and well regarded critic, was twenty-one in '71, the same age as many of the legendary artists who arrived on the scene. Taking us on a tour of the major moments, the events and songs of this remarkable year, he shows how musicians came together to form the perfect storm of rock and roll greatness, starting a musical era that would last longer than anyone predicted. Those who joined bands to escape things that lasted found themselves in a new age, its colossal start being part of the genre's staying power.
Never a Dull Moment is more than a love song to the music of 1971. It's also an homage to the things that inspired art and artists alike. From Soul Train to The Godfather, hot pants to table tennis, Hepworth explores both the music and its landscapes, culminating in an epic story of rock and roll's best year.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (June 7, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627793992
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627793995




A lot of great music came out of this year. And, the year I was born! So I was partial to this book. A fun read.

Passport To Heavenly Eternal Life, by Camilo Graza

OUR ULTIMATE GOAL-"PASSPORT TO HEAVENLY ETERNAL LIFE." This book reveals the purpose of God in creating this vast universe including humankind. He created us as His masterpiece for His glory. But we transgressed and become unfit to serve Him. Although our sins are red as crimson, it still can become white as snow. God expects a complete surrender of our lives to Him, by refraining from our misdeeds and follow the footsteps of His son Jesus Christ, who shed His blood and died for us in the cross. God did not just create us for nothing but had adopted us His children, as the Bible says: "The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God's children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs-heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share His sufferings in order that we may also share His glory." Romans 8:16-17. The Bible further says; "He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son." Revelation 21:7; and He said, "I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me." Matthew 18:3-5.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 218 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (April 17, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478748583
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478748588



In The Country We Love .....Michelle Burford

The star of Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin presents her personal story of the real plight of undocumented immigrants in this country
Diane Guerrero, the television actress from the megahit Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, was just fourteen years old on the day her parents were detained and deported while she was at school. Born in the U.S., Guerrero was able to remain in the country and continue her education, depending on the kindness of family friends who took her in and helped her build a life and a successful acting career for herself, without the support system of her family.
In the Country We Love is a moving, heartbreaking story of one woman's extraordinary resilience in the face of the nightmarish struggles of undocumented residents in this country. There are over 11 million undocumented immigrants living in the US, many of whom have citizen children, whose lives here are just as precarious, and whose stories haven't been told. Written with bestselling author Michelle Burford, this memoir is a tale of personal triumph that also casts a much-needed light on the fears that haunt the daily existence of families likes the author's and on a system that fails them over and over.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (May 3, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627795278
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627795272


Raw, honest, Diane Guerrero does a fine job in this book about her struggles. A must-read!




Wednesday, June 15, 2016

BULLIES. A FRIENDSHIP. by Alex Abramovich

click to purchase


The powerful account of one writer's unlikely friendship with his childhood bully, now the president of a motorcycle club in one of America's most dangerous cities.
Once upon a time, Alex Abramovich and Trevor Latham were mortal enemies: miniature outlaws in a Long Island elementary school, perpetually at each other's throats. Then they lost track of each other. Decades later, when they met again, Abramovich was a writer and Latham had become President of the East Bay Rats, a motorcycle club in Oakland.
In 2010, Abramovich moved to California to immerse himself in Latham's world - one of fight clubs, booze-filled nights, and beat-downs on the city's streets. But dangerous, dysfunctional Oakland was also becoming one of America's most rapidly gentrifying cities, and the questions Abramovich had arrived with were thrown into brutal relief: How do we live with the burden of violence? How do we overcome it? Do we overcome it?
As Trevor, the Rats, and the city they live in careen between crises and moments of renaissance, Abramovich explores issues of friendship, family, history, and destiny - and looks at what happens when those things fail. Bullies is at once a vivid, visceral narrative of an unusual friendship and an incisive portrait of a beautiful, terrible city.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (March 8, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805094288
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805094282

Being bullied myself in school I really enjoyed reading this book by Alex Abramovich. This is the story of his experience with his bully and in the end how it all turned out okay. A must read. 

IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN...COLONIAL AMERICA by Carole P. Roman

Join Carole P. Roman and travel through time to visit the most interesting civilizations throughout history in the first four books of her new series. Learn what kind of food you might eat in Ancient Greece, the clothes you wore in 15th century Renaissance Italy, what your name could be in Elizabethan England, and what Colonial American children did for fun. If You Were Me and Lived in...does for history what her other award-winning series did for culture. So get on-board this time-travel machine and discover the world through the eyes of a young person just like you.


Product Details

  • Series: An Introduction to Civilizations Throughout Time
  • Paperback: 64 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (April 28, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1523234075
  • ISBN-13: 978-1523234073


About the Author

Carole P. Roman’s is the award winning author of the nonfiction If You Were Me and Lived in… series of children’s books. The first title in the collection, If You Were Me and Lived in…Mexico, won the Pinnacle Award for Best in Children’s Nonfiction in 2012. If You Were Me and Lived in…Russia and If You Were Me and Lived in...France were finalists in the Indie Fab Foreword Review Book of the Year. Norway and South Korea have also been named as Book of the Year with Rebecca's Reads and Children's Reader's View Book of the Year. Roman has also found success with her Captain No Beard children’s books. Her debut, Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life, was named a Kirkus Best of 2012, received a Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award in 2012. Roman lives on Long Island with her husband and very near her children.

She writes such sweet books about traveling the world. Great for kids, and adults as well.