Wednesday, March 1, 2017

THE HUM OF ANGELS by Scot McKight



Would You Recognize an Angel if You Saw One?The majority of earth’s inhabitants believe in Angels. Yet so few of us can claim to have seen one. Why?

Perhaps it’s because in order to encounter one, we first have to learn what to look for and how to look!  We live in a world where the natural and supernatural overlap. Angels are constantly on mission from God and constantly at work in this world.

From the Garden of Eden to the Book of Revelation, Scripture is filled with hundreds of references to these wondrous creatures. In this creative work, Scot McKnight explores what the Bible says – and doesn’t say – about these majestic beings. And that’s deeply important because angels are still on mission today. They express God’s love, confirm His presence, and even lead humans in redemptive worship.

Don’t just believe in angels. Learn how to recognize these messengers of God that are all around us and know how God might be using them to affect our lives.


Most People Believe in Angels.
It’s What we Believe About them that Matters.


Believing in angels is one thing. But how can we know what angels are really like – especially when our preconceived notions have been mostly shape by sensationalized misinterpretations of these wondrous beings?

To help sort things out, Scot McKnight untangles fact from fiction on topics such as:
* Do loved ones become angels when they die?
* Can we hear from angels?
* Is there a hierarchy of angels?
* Do we have a specific guardian angel?
* Should we be scared of angels?
* Are cherubs and seraphs different creatures than angels?
* Do angels have wings?
* Are angels worship leaders?


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook (February 7, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601426313
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601426314


This was a great, easy non-fiction read.  I love the way Scot McKnight explained angels in detail, challenging the scientific believer.  Stating you can believe the science side and still believe in angels. Once you read this book you will understand all about angels, which I never knew most of this information existed or was real!  A very nice job by Mr. McKnight.




I received this book from Blogging for Books for my honest review.
 


THE AUREATE SPECTACLES by Eliott McKay

click to purchase


Girl Power with Fangs


Michaela was a seemingly normal high school senior, hiding behind a pair of hideous spectacles which masked her true identity. When she’s abducted by an intriguing werewolf, she learns that her father was a powerful vampire, and she has been chosen to protect his city from her predatory kin.
As the situation grows dire, the fate of the city rests in her hands, and she must choose between peace for her people or the man she's growing to love.
"Finally a vampire romance with a strong female character. Loves like Bella Swan and fights like Katniss Everdeen" - "Clara Newman"




Product Details

  • Paperback: 402 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (January 4, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1541390679
  • ISBN-13: 978-1541390676



Friday, January 20, 2017

Junie B. Jones First Ever Musical Edition! First Grader (at last).

Click to purchase


Junie B. Jones The Musical is a hit! Listen to the full cast album and the audiobook of Junie B. Jones, First Grader (at last!).
Being in first grade means having to get used to a whole new classroom. And a whole new teacher. And a whole new bunch of strange children. But here's the worst thing of all: When Junie B. tries to read words on the chalkboard…she can’t! Is it possible that Junie B. needs glasses?

This special audiobook edition of Junie B. Jones, First Grader (at last!) contains all the songs from Junie B. Jones The Musical. The musical is adapted from the books Junie B. Jones, First Grader (at Last!); Junie B. Jones, Boss of Lunch; Junie B. Jones, One-Man Band; and Top Secret Personal Beeswax, A Journal by Junie B. (and Me), by Barbara Park. © 2001, 2001, 2002, 2002, 2003 by Barbara Park.
 
Song list:
1. Top Secret Personal Beeswax
2. Lucille, Camille, Chenille
3. You Can Be My Friend
4. Time to Make a Drawing
5. You Need Glasses
6. Show and Tell
7. Now I See
8. Lunch Box
9. Gladys Gutzman, Queen of Snacks
10. Kickball Tournament
11. Sheldon Potts’ Halftime Show
12. When Life Gives You Lemons
13. Kickball Tournament (Reprise)
14. When Life Gives You Lemons (Reprise)
15. Writing Down the Story of My Life




A great CD Book and music. Cute voices of readers. Junie B. Jones has always been a classic for me and my kids to enjoy. I highly recommend this book on CD.


I received this book on CD from Blogging For Books for my honest review.

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

The Never Open Desert Diner by James Anderson

click to purchase


A singularly compelling debut novel, about a desert where people go to escape their past, and a truck driver who finds himself at risk when he falls in love with a mysterious woman.
Ben Jones lives a quiet, hardscrabble life, working as a trucker on Route 117, a little-travelled road in a remote region of the Utah desert which serves as a haven for fugitives and others looking to hide from the world. For many of the desert’s inhabitants, Ben's visits are their only contact with the outside world, and the only landmark worth noting is a once-famous roadside diner that hasn’t opened in years.

Ben’s routine is turned upside down when he stumbles across a beautiful woman named Claire playing a cello in an abandoned housing development. He can tell that she’s fleeing something in her past—a dark secret that pushed her to the end of the earth—but despite his better judgment he is inexorably drawn to her.

As Ben and Claire fall in love, specters from her past begin to resurface, with serious and life-threatening consequences not only for them both, but for others who have made this desert their sanctuary. Dangerous men come looking for her, and as they turn Route 117 upside down in their search, the long-buried secrets of those who’ve laid claim to this desert come to light, bringing Ben and the other locals into deadly conflict with Claire’s pursuers. Ultimately, the answers they all seek are connected to the desert’s greatest mystery—what really happened all those years ago at the never-open desert diner?

In this unforgettable story of love and loss, Ben learns the enduring truth that some violent crimes renew themselves across generations. At turns funny, heartbreaking and thrilling, The Never-Open Desert Diner powerfully evokes an unforgettable setting and introduces readers to a cast of characters who will linger long after the last page.




Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Broadway Books; Reprint edition (November 8, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1101906901
  • ISBN-13: 978-1101906903


Overall, I'm giving this book 3 stars.  It was an interesting read, in that Mr. Anderson is a great writer. His writing style flows freely and makes it for a fast read. As far as 'easy read' I'm still doubting that.  I was half way through the book and still wondering what is the point for all that is happening. The story is not tied together until the very final pages. And that made it frustrating to me. It wasn't like it even built up to it. It was just blah in most respects. I read many great reviews about this book, but I'm not sure exactly what they saw in this book.  Like I said, 3 stars is what I give it. I think the book really had potential, but it didn't quite make it on my top 10 list for sure.


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Hola! Let's Learn Spanish by Judy Martialay

¡HOLA! gives children 6-10 an early and fun start in learning Spanish. Parents can use it with their children, whether or not they know Spanish. Please go to the audio page at polyglotkidz.com for your free download of the audio version. Follow the book along with the audio to learn the pronunciation. Kids take an imaginary trip to Mexico where they meet Panchito the Mexican Jumping Bean. They follow his adventures while being drawn into the culture and learning Spanish. Activities follow to practice Spanish. They include a treasure hunt and a skit. Culture Corner give more ideas for practicing Spanish while learning more about Mexico, including the song for breaking a piñata. Children can follow directions for making a traditional Mexican Mask. Parents should go to Parents' page on website for more advice on how to use the book.
It's important to download the audio version so that you can stop and return to parts that you want to hear again.



A great easy read for anyone, not just children. Lots of colorful illustrations. This book is not just about language. It's about culture all around. Music. Reading. People. etc. Great book!
Thanks for letting me read and review this book Ms. Martialay!

From the Author

¡HOLA!.. is a start in learning the language. My hope is that parents and children will be enthusiastic about learning Spanish and will ask their elementary schools to implement programs for learning languages. Currently, only 15% of elementary schools here in the U.S.offer any form of foreign language instruction.  
Please see that your child continues the study of Spanish. If your local elementary school doesn't offer FLES (Foreign Language in Elementary School), please ask your Board of Education to implement a program so that your child and others can enjoy the benefits of learning another language.
It takes many years to master a language, which expresses all the complexities of human thought. Your child will have a truly useful skill with amazing benefits after studying the language throughout grade school and college.


Monday, November 14, 2016

Doodletopia Fairies. Draw, design, and color your own super-magical and beautiful fairies by Christopher Hart

click to purchase


An interactive doodle book of fairies and other fantasy characters from the best-selling art instruction author whose books have sold more than six million copies, pairing illustration tips with drawing, designing, coloring, and crafting activities.

For years, Christopher Hart has given readers the tools and techniques needed to learn how to draw and cartoon. With the Doodletopia series, Hart offers us a chance to practice and perfect our artistic skills. For this latest title, Hart returns to the lush, gorgeous, and mystical subject of fairies. Doodletopia: Fairies provides aspiring fantasy artists and fairy fans with activities to stimulate their creativity. After covering the basics of rendering these characters, Hart sets us loose to interact with the book's many exercises and challenges. Pairing the informative content for which Hart is beloved with myriad opportunities for creative expression, Doodletopia: Fairies offers aspiring artists the next level of interactive art instruction.





About the Author



Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Watson-Guptill (October 4, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607746956
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607746959


A whimsical, wonderful book for an any-age artist. Even if you are not an artist, this book provides step by step detailed instructions on how to make your very own fairy. A must-own book for the drawing/art lover in your life. Cute too!






I was provided this book for a free review from Blogging for Books.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Approval Junkie by Faith Salie

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait…Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of daring, funny essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval
Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it’s trying to impress her parents with a perfect GPA, undergoing an exorcism in the hopes of saving her toxic marriage, or maintaining the BMI of “a flapper with a touch of dysentery,” Salie is the ultimate approval seeker—an “approval junkie,” if you will.

In “Miss Aphrodite,” she recounts her strategy for winning the high school beauty pageant. (“Not to brag or anything, but no one stood a chance against my emaciated, spastic resolve.”) “What I Wore to My Divorce” describes Salie’s struggle to pick the perfect outfit to wear to the courthouse to divorce her “wasband.” (“I envisioned a look that said, ‘Yo, THIS is what you’ll be missing…even though you’ve introduced your new girlfriend to our mutual friends, and she’s a decade younger than I am and is also a fit model.”) In "Ovary Achiever," she shares tips on how to ace your egg retrieval. (“Thank your fertility doctor when she announces you have ‘amazing ovaries.’ Try to be humble about it [‘Oh,these old things?’].”) And in “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me About Batman’s Nipples” she reveals the secrets behind Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! (“I study for this show like Tracy Flick on Adderall”).

With thoughtful irreverence, Salie reflects on why she tries so hard to please others, and herself, highlighting a phenomenon that many people—especially women—experience at home and in the workplace. Equal parts laugh-out loud funny and poignant, Approval Junkie is one woman’s journey to realizing that seeking approval from others is more than just getting them to like you—it's challenging yourself to achieve, and survive, more than you ever thought you could.


Product Details

  • File Size: 1666 KB
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype (April 19, 2016)
  • Publication Date: April 19, 2016
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B013NIBBJO


I could very much relate to the topic of this book...seeking approval from everyone but themselves. I have been known to do this...often.  Faith Salie writes a great book about just this. She wrote a nice, honest book that all must read.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

PEACE WITH BEES, by Nadh Poduri

Peace with Bees is a story about a silly elephant who loves honey and thinks it’s ok to steal honey from the bees. The story teaches kids about compassion and dealing with adversities. The silly elephant’s journey to understand the boundaries and respect everyone would be a visual treat to read.

After Barney snatches the honey from Ephan, Ephan goes and steals honey from the bees despite his friend Sid’s reservations. Little did he know about the consequences of stealing. “Peace with Bees” is a story that teaches children about compassion, respect the boundaries of others. The story is nicely laced with fun facts about bees that would help children appreciate the little things. With stunning graphics and lovable characters ‘Peace with Bees’ truly brings out the joy to the young readers.


Product Details

  • File Size: 8381 KB
  • Print Length: 55 pages
  • Publication Date: October 2, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LKAHOFW

This book is great for kids, and adults as well. It teaches kids about treating others the way you want to be treated; respect, boundaries. A sweet, short read. I love the concept not just for kids, but adults as well, because so many adults forget the basic rules of life. Pick it up! I know you'll be happy you did.


Thursday, October 13, 2016

I AM THE OCEAN, BY SAMITA SARKAR

Samita Sarkar thought she was destined to spend her entire life running.

Never giving herself a moment’s rest, she studied hard and graduated from university with top grades, and then promptly began a tireless job search. But although she thought that she had done everything by the book, life still hadn’t given her any answers. She knew that God had a plan, but what was it?

Stricken with anxiety while facing midsummer heat and sizable life decisions, the thrifty twenty-something Canadian—who had never before travelled for travel’s sake—purchased a discount bus ticket for what she thought would be a few weeks of reprieve in The United States. Embarking on her journey with nothing but a small suitcase, a broken handbag, a killer manicure and a copy of "The Bhagavad Gita," Samita would spend her days wandering streets and beaches, and her nights in jostling buses or on cramped couches. Marvelling at the beauty around her, Samita finally discovered what the world has to offer to those who stop running, while learning lessons that would set the course of the rest of her life.

*This is a beautiful story of a young woman who wanted to see the world. A Canadian who ended up on the east coast of the U.S. of A traveling southward.  People she encounters. Experiences she has. etc. A fun book. Easy, quick read. Inspiring. Her God, Lord Krishna is in control. Not her.*


Product Details

  • File Size: 1464 KB
  • Print Length: 204 pages
  • Publisher: Blossoms Books (March 3, 2016)
  • Publication Date: March 3, 2016


Wednesday, September 7, 2016

THE FALL OF HEAVEN BY ANDREW SCOTT COOPER

An immersive, gripping account of the rise and fall of Iran's glamorous Pahlavi dynasty, written with the cooperation of the late Shah's widow, Empress Farah, Iranian revolutionaries and US officials from the Carter administration
In this remarkably human portrait of one of the twentieth century's most complicated personalities, Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Andrew Scott Cooper traces the Shah's life from childhood through his ascension to the throne in 1941. He draws the turbulence of the post-war era during which the Shah survived assassination attempts and coup plots to build a modern, pro-Western state and launch Iran onto the world stage as one of the world's top five powers. Readers get the story of the Shah's political career alongside the story of his courtship and marriage to Farah Diba, who became a power in her own right, the beloved family they created, and an exclusive look at life inside the palace during the Iranian Revolution. Cooper's investigative account ultimately delivers the fall of the Pahlavi dynasty through the eyes of those who were there: leading Iranian revolutionaries; President Jimmy Carter and White House officials; US Ambassador William Sullivan and his staff in the American embassy in Tehran; American families caught up in the drama; even Empress Farah herself, and the rest of the Iranian Imperial family. Intimate and sweeping at once, The Fall of Heaven recreates in stunning detail the dramatic and final days of one of the world's most legendary ruling families, the unseating of which helped set the stage for the current state of the Middle East.


Product Details

  • File Size: 8473 KB
  • Print Length: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (August 2, 2016)
  • Publication Date: August 2, 2016
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English

LET'S GO CAMPING BY KATE BRUNING

You can crochet the camping trip of a lifetime with adorable, miniature projects that will delight adults and kids alike. You'll find all the camping gear you need for hours of creative play, including sleeping bags, backpacks, frying pans, picnic baskets, and much more. These easy-to-follow instructions plus your favorite yarn are all you need to create cute and collectible cabins, tents, boats, mountains, and trees for your dream campsite!
US terminology and measurements


Product Details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: That Patchwork Place (August 23, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1604688157
  • ISBN-13: 978-1604688153
Crochet all things camping-trees, forest, wigwams, tents, the list goes on. So cute! A must-own crochet book.

DON'T. UNLOCK THE DO IN DON'T. BY BOB SELDEN

How using the right words will positively impact your life. Have you ever wondered why some people seem to have all the luck? Well, "Don't" shows you how words impact those parts of the brain that make you either positive or negative. People who have a more positive outlook use more positive language. They see opportunities that others miss - they also generally see how these opportunities can be turned into real advantages. * "Don't" sets out those negative words and phrases to avoid - the ones that create negative thinking in your brain and result in negative behaviour - and then suggests some words and phrases that do just the opposite. The end result? You will start to use positive words, which activate the positive parts of your brain which then results in positive behaviour. * "Don't" will also enable you to better manage those difficult conversations that all of us have at some point. Sometimes it's a conversation we initiate, such as going to a job interview, at other times it's initiated by someone else, such as when a good friend wants help with a deep problem. Bob Selden will challenge some of your thinking on what makes some people more successful than others - is it luck? upbringing? opportunity? Or is it perhaps the words we use? Read his new book "Don't" and make the call!


Product Details

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Port Campbell Press (May 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 099445080X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0994450807


I love this book on interpersonal communication. How to speak to someone constructively. Changing your thinking when it comes to relationships with others. A very effective, well-written book. A must own book!

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

THE CANDLE MAKER BY JAMES RYAN ORR

The Candle Maker offers a refreshing glimpse into the journey of faith throughout the entirety of a lifetime. The story of Phillip and his quest to understand how and why there is a candle within his chest is compelling and reads like a parable guiding toward a profound truth. Phillip’s remarkable experience, the wide swing of all human emotion, travels the high, joyous peaks as well as the low, desolate valleys of life.


The Candle Maker follows Phillip through all the stages of his existence, from the warmth of a nurturing home, to the embrace of a true love, through the snares of those who would tempt to extinguish his inner flame, through great loss and absolute heartache, back again to a life rebuilt and life returned, and ultimately face to face with the Candle Maker, the creator of all light. Don’t let the brevity of The Candle Maker mislead you, within this small volume is a story that sings a grand truth that must be experienced by anyone walking the path of light.



Product Details

  • Series: Morgan James Fiction
  • Hardcover: 134 pages
  • Publisher: Morgan James Fiction; Lam edition (January 10, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1630479713
  • ISBN-13: 978-1630479718


All I can say is WOW! What an amazing book!  James Ryan Orr takes us through a journey of one boy, Phillip. Phillip's life. Phillips' candle burning inside him, his chest, near where his heart is. Phillip learns a lot about himself and the world around him. I will not say any more, as I do not want to give away the turns to this lovely book. A MUST READ! Thank you Mr. Orr for letting me be the first reviewer!

IN THE DARKROOM BY SUSAN FALUDI

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and bestselling author of Backlash, comes In the Darkroom, an astonishing confrontation with the enigma of her father and the larger riddle of identity consuming our age.
“In the summer of 2004 I set out to investigate someone I scarcely knew, my father. The project began with a grievance, the grievance of a daughter whose parent had absconded from her life. I was in pursuit of a scofflaw, an artful dodger who had skipped out on so many things―obligation, affection, culpability, contrition. I was preparing an indictment, amassing discovery for a trial. But somewhere along the line, the prosecutor became a witness.”
So begins Susan Faludi’s extraordinary inquiry into the meaning of identity in the modern world and in her own haunted family saga. When the feminist writer learned that her 76-year-old father―long estranged and living in Hungary―had undergone sex reassignment surgery, that investigation would turn personal and urgent. How was this new parent who identified as “a complete woman now” connected to the silent, explosive, and ultimately violent father she had known, the photographer who’d built his career on the alteration of images?
Faludi chases that mystery into the recesses of her suburban childhood and her father’s many previous incarnations: American dad, Alpine mountaineer, swashbuckling adventurer in the Amazon outback, Jewish fugitive in Holocaust Budapest. When the author travels to Hungary to reunite with her father, she drops into a labyrinth of dark histories and dangerous politics in a country hell-bent on repressing its past and constructing a fanciful―and virulent―nationhood. The search for identity that has transfixed our century was proving as treacherous for nations as for individuals.
Faludi’s struggle to come to grips with her father’s metamorphosis self takes her across borders―historical, political, religious, sexual--to bring her face to face with the question of the age: Is identity something you “choose,” or is it the very thing you can’t escape?



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Metropolitan Books (June 14, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 080508908X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805089080


I WILL SEND RAIN BY RAE MEADOWS

A luminous, tenderly rendered novel of a woman fighting for her family's survival in the early years of the Dust Bowl; from the acclaimed and award-winning Rae Meadows.
Annie Bell can't escape the dust. It's in her hair, covering the windowsills, coating the animals in the barn, in the corners of her children's dry, cracked lips. It's 1934 and the Bell farm in Mulehead, Oklahoma is struggling as the earliest storms of The Dust Bowl descend. All around them the wheat harvests are drying out and people are packing up their belongings as storms lay waste to the Great Plains. As the Bells wait for the rains to come, Annie and each member of her family are pulled in different directions. Annie's fragile young son, Fred, suffers from dust pneumonia; her headstrong daughter, Birdie, flush with first love, is choosing a dangerous path out of Mulehead; and Samuel, her husband, is plagued by disturbing dreams of rain.
As Annie, desperate for an escape of her own, flirts with the affections of an unlikely admirer, she must choose who she is going to become. With her warm storytelling and beautiful prose, Rae Meadows brings to life an unforgettable family that faces hardship with rare grit and determination. Rich in detail and epic in scope, I Will Send Rain is a powerful novel of upheaval and resilience, filled with hope, morality, and love.



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (August 9, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627794263
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627794268

Biography

Born in Brussels, Rae Meadows grew up in suburbs of Cleveland and San Diego before attending Stanford University as an Art History major. After years in advertising she wrote her first story, which led to local workshops and eventually the MFA program at the University of Utah. While in Salt Lake City, she answered phones at an escort service, the experience of which inspired her first novel.

Calling Out received the 2006 Utah Book Award for fiction and was named an Entertainment Weekly Must Read, a Book Sense Notable Novel, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, and one of the Best Books of 2006 by the Chicago Tribune. Meadows was also named one of five Poets & Writers Debut Writers to Watch. Her second novel, No One Tells Everything, was named a Notable Novel by Poets & Writers and was awarded Honorable Mention in the 2008 Anne Powers Fiction Prize. Mercy Train (released in hardback as Mothers and Daughters) was chosen as a Target Emerging Authors selection and has also been published in Italy, Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands, where it was a bestseller.

Her stories have appeared in various literary magazines including the Mississippi Review, Avery Anthology, and Washington Square, and her writing has also appeared online at Nerve, More Magazine, and NPR. She and Alex Darrow co-wrote the screenplay adaptation of Calling Out, optioned by Sound Pictures.

Meadows’s fourth novel, I Will Send Rain, is forthcoming, summer 2016, from Henry Holt. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, NY.

LIVING TO DIE. DYING TO LIVE BY C.D. LANE

On Feb the 10th 1987 I was told I would be dead in a year. This book of lies exposing the truths. This is my story, from my point of view with harsh revelations and very few pleasant realities. Nothing will be hidden from the world when the pages are all turned. This will be a shock to some and a joy to no one. Once the lies are all exposed, I expect some friends and family will never speak to me again. It was defense mechanisms to cover the truths. Living with HIV when I was diagnosed came with stigma, fear and shame. I didn't mean to hurt anyone, but once the lie was in place it stayed in play. Surviving many others who have gone before me in spite of my own self.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 254 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (May 27, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478775572
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478775577



Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Under the Stars-How America Fell In Love With Camping, by Dan White


“The definitive book on camping in America. . . . A passionate, witty, and deeply engaging examination of why humans venture into the wild.”Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild
From the Sierras to the Adirondacks and the Everglades, Dan White travels the nation to experience firsthand―and sometimes face first―how the American wilderness transformed from the devil’s playground into a source of adventure, relaxation, and renewal.
Whether he’s camping nude in cougar country, being attacked by wildlife while “glamping,” or crashing a girls-only adventure for urban teens, Dan White seeks to animate the evolution of outdoor recreation. In the process, he demonstrates how the likes of Emerson, Thoreau, Roosevelt, and Muir―along with visionaries such as Adirondack Murray, Horace Kephart, and Juliette Gordon Low―helped blaze a trail from Transcendentalism to Leave No Trace.
Wide-ranging in research, enthusiasm, and geography, Under the Stars reveals a vast population of nature seekers, a country still in love with its wild places.

*Fun adventures in this interesting book-A must-read for the camping fanatics*

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (June 14, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627791957
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627791953


Approval Junkie-Adventures in caring too much by Faith Salie

click to purchase

From comedian and journalist Faith Salie, of NPR's Wait Wait…Don't Tell Me! and CBS News Sunday Morning, a collection of daring, funny essays chronicling the author's adventures during her lifelong quest for approval

Faith Salie has done it all in the name of validation. Whether it’s trying to impress her parents with a perfect GPA, undergoing an exorcism in the hopes of saving her toxic marriage, or maintaining the BMI of “a flapper with a touch of dysentery,” Salie is the ultimate approval seeker—an “approval junkie,” if you will.

In “Miss Aphrodite,” she recounts her strategy for winning the high school beauty pageant. (“Not to brag or anything, but no one stood a chance against my emaciated, spastic resolve.”) “What I Wore to My Divorce” describes Salie’s struggle to pick the perfect outfit to wear to the courthouse to divorce her “wasband.” (“I envisioned a look that said, ‘Yo, THIS is what you’ll be missing…even though you’ve introduced your new girlfriend to our mutual friends, and she’s a decade younger than I am and is also a fit model.”) In "Ovary Achiever," she shares tips on how to ace your egg retrieval. (“Thank your fertility doctor when she announces you have ‘amazing ovaries.’ Try to be humble about it [‘Oh,these old things?’].”) And in “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me About Batman’s Nipples” she reveals the secrets behind Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! (“I study for this show like Tracy Flick on Adderall”).

With thoughtful irreverence, Salie reflects on why she tries so hard to please others, and herself, highlighting a phenomenon that many people—especially women—experience at home and in the workplace. Equal parts laugh-out loud funny and poignant, Approval Junkie is one woman’s journey to realizing that seeking approval from others is more than just getting them to like you—it's challenging yourself to achieve, and survive, more than you ever thought you could.


About the Author

FAITH SALIE is an Emmy-winning contributor to CBS News Sunday Morning and a panelist on NPR’s Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! She also hosts the PBS show, Science Goes To The Movies. As a commentator on politics and pop culture, she’s been interviewed by the likes of Oprah Winfrey, Bill O’Reilly, and Anderson Cooper. As a television and public radio host, she herself has interviewed newsmakers from Lorne Michaels to President Carter to Robert Redford, who invited her to call him “Bob.” Faith attended Oxford University on a Rhodes scholarship, and while her fellow scholars went on to become governors and mayors, she landed on a Star Trek collectible trading card worth hundreds of cents.  She lives in New York City with her husband, two children, and her husband’s dog.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype; First Edition edition (April 19, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553419935
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553419931

 

How to Be You by Jeffrey Marsh, online sensation

click to purchase

This book is about how to finally give up on feeling bad about yourself and discover the best person you can be.

An interactive experience, How to Be You invites you to make the book your own through activities such as coloring in charts, answering questions about how you do the things you do, and discovering patterns in your lives that may be holding you back. Through Jeffrey's own story of "growing up fabulous in a small farming town"--along with the stories of hero/ines who have transcended the stereotypes of race, age, and gender--you will discover that you are not alone, can deepen your relationship with yourself, and find the courage to take a leap that will change your life.


About the Author

Host, author, and youth advocate Jeffrey Marsh has more than a quarter BILLION views across social media. As the creator of the global trends #DontSayThatsSoGay and #NoTimeToHateMyself, Jeffrey has earned spots on top Viner lists by both BuzzFeed and Vine with a positive, inclusive message. In 2015, Jeffrey was named official red carpet correspondent for both MTV/Logo and GLSEN and as a featured writer for The Huffington Post and Medium. Jeffrey is a precepted facilitator in the Soto Zen tradition of Buddhism, as well as a host, actor, singer, songwriter, dancer, and comedian.

CHAPTER 1: DON’T TRY TO BE PERFECT 

Sorry! Perfection doesn’t exist. Whoever taught you what it means to be “perfect” was making it up. Whoever taught them was making it up too. Perfection is a phony concept. It’s a phony set of standards. Where did the standards come from? How did they start? You can’t always be sure where your ideas about how you should be came from, but one thing to notice is that perfection often has a shifting definition. Over time, we as a society change our standards. And, yes, over time, you as an individual change your ideas about how to be perfect. What you think is the “perfect person thing to do” now may change in five years. It may change in five minutes. “Perfect” is a shifting, unclear, unreliable set of standards. Because of this, you will never meet the fake standards of perfection. This is awesome news! As soon as you give up the quest to be perfect according to some outside standard, you can start being you. Holy wow, I feel like that’s so im­portant I need to say it again. As soon as you give up the quest to be perfect according to some outside standard, you can start being you.

And there is a good reason you can’t meet the standards. You are a living, breathing human. That’s why no one can meet the standards. You are not some caged, bottle-able, sellable set of never-changing qualities. You are alive. And alive things change. It is constantly, always what you do. So you can either embrace change and get ex­cited about it—you can even start to love it—or you can try every­thing to freeze yourself into a perfect set of standards. Good luck with that second one. You can’t actually freeze yourself. But so many people just keep trying to freeze themselves; they keep trying to get to that perfect spot where they can be frozen and perfect and every­thing about their lives will work because they’ve done all the right things. Excuse me, but what kind of weird goal is that? Since when does trying to meet some passed-down fake standard of perfect equal a nice life?

It doesn’t. It equals a life of constantly trying. You might keep striving for an idea of perfection for the rest of your life. Many people do. And it is not worth it.

You’ll never get there. The standards for perfection shift and morph and climb so astronomically high that they are unattainable. Why spend your precious life trying to do something impossible?

It is not fun. Fun might not seem like an important criterion here, but why do something that is so unpleasant? If you could try to be perfect your whole life and have an awesome time doing it (even though it will never work), I’d say, “This is great. I’m so glad you’re having so much fun. Yippee!” But of course trying to meet false and shifting standards is actually the setup to making a bummer of your whole life.

I have a question. What’s the one thing about yourself that you were taught to hate? What’s the biggest thing that you were taught is imperfect about you? Have you struggled with that thing your whole life? Have you tried to change and change and change that thing? Would you call trying to change that thing fun?

The same thing goes for your life in general. It isn’t fun to try to control your circumstances; you can’t try to “make perfect” outside events so that you can feel more perfect inside. Making your outside environment perfect is unlikely to work because you can hardly control yourself, let alone anyone or anything else you see outside you. Your idea of perfection is based on a faulty assumption: that you are separate from the world and can judge how it should be. What if life has its own kind of perfection in it without your “help”? What if you, just as you are, are part of life’s perfection?

Product Details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: TarcherPerigee (August 2, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0143110128
  • ISBN-13: 978-0143110125