Thursday, October 23, 2014

Geoffrey Zakarian My Perfect Pantry


My Perfect Pantry: 150 Easy Recipes from 50 Essential Ingredients

 

Forget exotic condiments and specialty foods. With a working base of 50 readily available ingredients, from oats and honey to almonds and canned chickpeas, you will always have the makings of a delicious home-cooked meal. Whether cooking in his world-class restaurants, on Iron Chef, or judging the offerings on Chopped, Geoffrey knows every great meal starts with a trip to the pantry first for inspiration. In The Perfect Pantry, Geoffrey shows you how to use your pantry to jumpstart any meal. When you bring home your fresh produce and proteins, you’ll have 150 recipes at the ready, and many of these can be made with pantry ingredients alone. 

You’ll see a simple can of beans as a Smoky Black Bean Bisque or coconut milk as Spicy Coconut Tempura Shrimp. Standard back-of-the-cupboard fare like almonds become crispy crust on a broiled pork chop; peanut butter lends itself beautifully to a spicy slaw, cider vinegar gives great flavor to a chicken main as well as to donuts, and mustard transforms a a pot roast. Throughout, you’ll find quick but ingenious tips for each of the 50 ingredients, like how to use Earl Grey teabags to infuse ice cubes or a syrup for French toast.

The Perfect Pantry makes it so easy for your everyday staples to lead, rather than support, the creation of extraordinary meals. Geoffrey gives you the shopping list you need, as well as the road map for making the most of what you have on hand...

 

This is a great book for me, the beginner cook. Use simple ingredients, like thyme, baking soda, or cinnamon and create yummy recipes. Easy! Great hardback book. For any age. For any level of cook. 

click to order

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter (October 7, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385345666
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385345668
  • Geoffrey Zakarian has manned the stoves at some of the world’s best restaurants over the past twenty years, including Arpège in Paris and the Dorchester in London. In New York City, he was the Chef de Cuisine at Le Cirque and Executive Chef of 44 at the Royalton and “21.” In 2001, he opened Town in midtown Manhattan and in 2005 Country near Madison Square Park. This is his first book.

     

     

     "I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review."

    Friday, October 17, 2014

    The Dragon and the Firefly

     
     
    Twins. A young prince and princess who can send each other one word a day. The prince, Fenn, is kidnapped by a strange king, blind but with magic powers and a plan to conquer their kingdom. The princess. Aster, foolishly pursues his rescue, accompanied only by her dragon, Moakie, and guided by the one word she receives from Fenn each day. The heroine's journey ends with a shocking surprise and an act of courage, far beyond the boundaries of reason that reshapes every event that follows. An adventure full of discovery, The Dragon and the Firefly is the sequel to the highly acclaimed The Sword of Darrow which won critical praise and has one of the highest customer ratings of any Amazon book. Reading Teen called The Sword of Darrow "372 pages of pure awesomeness."
     
     
    Publisher: Double M Publishing (May 29, 2014)
    Print Length: 358 pages
     
     
    well-written, quick read, for all ages, any fantasy lover!
     
     

    Thursday, October 9, 2014

    The Underground Girls of Kabul, by Jenny Nordberg

     
     
     
    In Afghanistan, a culture ruled almost entirely by men, the birth of a son is cause for celebration and the arrival of a daughter is often mourned as misfortune. A bacha posh (literally translated from Dari as “dressed up like a boy”) is a third kind of child – a girl temporarily raised as a boy and presented as such to the outside world. Jenny Nordberg, the reporter who broke the story of this phenomenon for the New York Times, constructs a powerful and moving account of those secretly living on the other side of a deeply segregated society where women have almost no rights and little freedom.

    The Underground Girls of Kabul
    is anchored by vivid characters who bring this remarkable story to life: Azita, a female parliamentarian who sees no other choice but to turn her fourth daughter Mehran into a boy; Zahra, the tomboy teenager who struggles with puberty and refuses her parents’ attempts to turn her back into a girl; Shukria, now a married mother of three after living for twenty years as a man; and Nader, who prays with Shahed, the undercover female police officer, as they both remain in male disguise as adults.

    At the heart of this emotional narrative is a new perspective on the extreme sacrifices of Afghan women and girls against the violent backdrop of America’s longest war. Divided into four parts, the book follows those born as the unwanted sex in Afghanistan, but who live as the socially favored gender through childhood and puberty, only to later be forced into marriage and childbirth. The Underground Girls of Kabul charts their dramatic life cycles, while examining our own history and the parallels to subversive actions of people who live under oppression everywhere.
     
    As Americans we women live a very easy life. We have all the rights. The right to vote. The right to marry who we want. The right to speak out, speak up!  But in many parts of the world, as this poignant book shows, this is not the case.  I enjoyed this book very much. A great read. It was quick to read, which is good for me, as I read a lot of books. A must read for any woman, really.
     
    "I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review."
     
     
     
     

    Wednesday, October 8, 2014

    Prairie Echoes-A Book of Poetry, by Suzanne Kee

    HERE IS A POETIC ALBUM SPANNING A LIFETIME OF CURIOSITY, PUZZLEMENT, APPRECIATION AND LOVE. Haven't we all occasionally wanted time to stand still - a story to go on and on, a loved one to live forever, a treasured evening to last longer? And yet we also want new doors to open, to visit with old friends, and perhaps a chance to see home once more. Somewhere among these pages you may discover your own way to bring these things about through reading the way it is done in verse. Through the years, the poet has seized upon moments of reflection before they escaped, and captured and groomed them like stray pets. It is hoped that adults who laugh and cry with the love of life will enjoy this collection of things dear to us.

    • Paperback: 144 pages
    • Publisher: Outskirts Press (May 5, 2014)
    • Language: English
    • ISBN-10: 1478723092
    • ISBN-13: 978-1478723097



    This is a thin paperback. Easy, quick read. Fun for anyone. I enjoyed the poetry in this one.


    (sorry my pic upload function is not working currently or else I'd post a pic of the cover)

    Backward Compatible-A Geek Romance, by Sarah Daltry & Pete Clark

    For fans of Scott Pilgrim or The Guild comes a story of Xbox, Denny's, and awkward beginnings. 

    Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close... 

    It is a time of chaotic hormones. 

    Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release. 

    During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game's secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path. 

    Pursued by other gamers who want to be the first to beat this boss, George and Katie race to level up, and, in so doing, restore decency and sexual activity to their personal galaxy...

    • Paperback: 314 pages
    • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (December 10, 2013)
    • Language: English
    • ISBN-10: 1494430576
    • ISBN-13: 978-1494430573

    I found this book interesting, yet not perfect. I guess no book is perfect.  But, it was cute. Pretty well-written. Although at times, far fetched, in terms of character development.  Cute concept.  Has potential.  Check it out-see for yourself.  Great for gamers of all ages :)


    (my pic upload function in Blogger is not working, grrrr. so therefore no pic of this book)

    If you want to purchase or check out this book further, you can click HERE to purchase on Amazon.