Thursday, December 24, 2015

The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting by Suzanne Brooker

A landscape painting guide for oil painters that breaks landscapes down into component elements from nature, and showcases tools and techniques used by classic and modern oil painters for bringing these scenes to life.
     Landscape painting is one of the most popular subjects for painters working in the medium of oils--from classic masters to contemporary artists. In The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting, established Watson-Guptill author and noted instructor/painter Suzanne Brooker presents the fundamentals necessary for mastering landscape oil painting, breaking landscapes down into component parts: sky, terrain, trees, and water. Each featured element builds off the previous, with additional lessons on the latest brushes, paints, and other tools used by artists. Key methods like observation, rendering, and color mixing are supported by demonstration paintings and samples from a variety of the best landscape oil painters of all time. With The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting, oil painters looking to break into landscape painting or enhance their work will find all the necessary ingredients for success.

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Watson-Guptill; First Edition edition (August 18, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804137552
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804137553]


I've always only used acrylics for my painting, but after reading through this hardback book I am definitely going to try my hand at oil painting, especially landscapes.  There are many great ideas for the novice artist even.  This book explains color in detail, which I believe is the core of understanding how to make a professional, great-looking painting.  There are many photos in this book, which is pleasing to the eye. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in the arts, not just painters.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.


Monday, December 14, 2015

Teddy Bears are here!

I recently read and reviewed "A Secret Safe to Tell" by Naomi Hunter.


She contacted me to let me know she is now selling teddy bears to accompany her wonderful book.


If you would like to make a purchase of either you can visit her website HERE and send her a message.


I thought her book was amazing and this is such a great cause.




From the author herself:


Each bear comes with a custom made, A Secret Safe to Tell ribbon and a special naming card that allows the lucky owner to name their bear.
We have a small brown bear (second from the right) that is $10, a medium white bear (far left) that is $15 and three large bears (grey, brown and cream) that are $20 each. Postage is $8 (for 1-3 bears) or $13 with a hardcover book ($25 for the book).
The perfect gift for any kids, or adults, who have previously connected with my book, or anyone who you would like to introduce to A Secret Safe to Tell.


Thanks again, Ms. Hunter, for letting me read and review your book.

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Little Miss Basic: A Parody (Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME by Dan Zevin

Little Miss Basic loves her Uggs, her pumpkin spice lattes, and texting her totes amaze Basic B*tches. But when she gets dumped by her BAE, Mr. Douchebag, she feels sad and ratchet inside. How can a Basic bounce back?
Meet her friends from the Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME parody series: Mr. Selfie, Little Miss Overshare, and Mr. Humblebrag! 

About the Author

Dan Zevin is a Thurber Prize-winning humorist. Two of his books, Dan Gets a Minivan andThe Day I Turned Uncool, were optioned by Adam Sandler, and the latter is now being developed for NBC by Jeffrey Katzenberg, Seth Grahame-Smith, and Lauren Rogen.

Dan has been an award-winning humor columnist for the New York Times, a comic commentator for NPR, and a contributor to print or digital editions of The New YorkerMcSweeney’sRolling StoneSalon, the L.A. TimesReal Simple, and Parents, among others. His latest project is a series of picture book parodies featuring adorably annoying adults, including Mr. Selfie, Little Miss Overshare, Mr. Humblebrag, and Little Miss Basic.

Product Details

  • Series: Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME
  • Paperback: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Three Rivers Press (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1101904445
  • ISBN-13: 978-1101904442


Well, I know this book is a parody. You need to keep this in mind while reading this book. There is nothing really 'funny' about it in my opinion. It is crude, rude, and kind of degrading, to say the least. The author uses words like 'douchebag' and "MILF". I'm sure you know what that means. Is it necessary in funny/comedic books to use such language? I do not recommend this book to anyone. 

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

 

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

WITCHES PROTECTION PROGRAM by Michael Phillip Cash

click to purchase

Wes Rockville, a disgraced law enforcement agent, is given one last chance to prove himself and save his career when he's reassigned to a 232 year old secret government organization. The Witches Protection Program.

His first assignment: uncover a billion-dollar Cosmetics company’s diabolical plan of using witchcraft for global domination, while protecting its heiress Morgan Pendragon from her aunt’s evil deeds.

Reluctantly paired with veteran witch protector, Alastair Verne, Wes must learn to believe in both witches and himself.

Filled with adventure, suspense and a rousing good time, Michael Phillip Cash creates a tongue-in-cheek alternate reality where witches cast spells and wreak havoc in modern day New York City.


Product Details

  • File Size: 2266 KB
  • Print Length: 239 pages
  • Publisher: Red Feather Publishing (May 25, 2015)
  • Publication Date: May 25, 2015

The main character Wes Rockville has some trouble developing the skills needed to be a stellar law enforcement agent like his father.  When he fails at his job, he is sent to a special assignment in a department that is ran by his father.  He reports to a secret government agency, The Witches Protection Program where he is paired with veteran agent Alastair Verne and begins to see things he never believed existed.  A famous cosmetic company run by witches is using witchcraft to attempt world domination. Wes is thrown into a world he never knew as soon as he gets into his new department. From that moment on things happen that push him to believe the impossible and open his mind to new ideas, beliefs and friends.  This book was a quick read for me and as a first time reader of Michael Phillip Cash books I know I will enjoy reading more of his stories.

Monday, November 30, 2015

Blue Sun by Tracy Abrey

click to purchase

A mysterious, secluded island with secrets. A brilliant teenage girl whose driving curiosity leads her to probe too deeply. A detached father who goes missing. Stalkers at every turn marked with a disturbing tattoo. An unreachable castle that holds all the answers.
Genny Hazard is on a plane to the Isle of Man, a curious island in the Irish Sea. Little does she know that she is not only going to be the new kid in a strange, foreign world, but her new life on the island is going to force her to rethink her beliefs, confront her past, and face her deepest fears.

A mysterious urban fantasy for young adults and adults alike, Tracy Abrey’s debut is a fascinating coming of age tale that explores the importance of family, the influence of our past on our present, and our need above all to find the truth. Incorporating and molding existing Manx folklore to create a new, unique mythology, its layered, intricate use of character and plot gives it the complexity and richness it deserves while never losing its pace or inventiveness. Filled with riveting mystery and almost unbearable suspense, Blue Sun is a first-rate page-turner that will leave you anxiously awaiting the next adventure.


About the Author

Tracy Abrey has been passionate about writing since stating in her second grade “school days” book that when she grew up she wanted to write books. Earning a BA in English Literature and French from Houston Baptist University and having taught high school English as she pursued her MA in English Literature at DePaul University, her childhood passion has morphed into a career focused on young adult urban fantasy. Abrey has lived in Canada, France, and England and currently resides in the US with her husband and two children.

My take:
Blue Sun is a captivating young adult fantasy.  The story is set on the Isle of Man in the Irish sea.  The author Tracy Abrey put a lot of effort and research into the island’s history which created a realistic scene.  The story begins when Genny and her uninvolved father move to the Isle of Man for his work on sustainable energy.  Genny fall’s  for the complicated, dashing boy at her new school, and embarking on a quest to make sense of all the bizarre events that begin plaguing her in her new home on this mysterious island. 

This is a well written story but it was a bit slow of a read for myself. 

Soul Food Love: Healthy Recipes Inspired by One Hundred Years of Cooking in a Black Family

A mother-daughter duo reclaims and redefines soul food by mining the traditions of four generations of black women and creating 80 healthy recipes to help everyone live longer and stronger.
 
In May 2012, bestselling author Alice Randall penned an op-ed in the New York Times titled “Black Women and Fat,” chronicling her quest to be “the last fat black woman” in her family. She turned to her daughter, Caroline Randall Williams, for help. Together they overhauled the way they cook and eat, translating recipes and traditions handed down by generations of black women into easy, affordable, and healthful—yet still indulgent—dishes, such as Peanut Chicken Stew, Red Bean and Brown Rice Creole Salad, Fiery Green Beans, and Sinless Sweet Potato Pie. Soul Food Love relates the authors’ fascinating family history (which mirrors that of much of black America in the twentieth century), explores the often fraught relationship African-American women have had with food, and forges a powerful new way forward that honors their cultural and culinary heritage. This is what the strong black kitchen looks like in the twenty-first century.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter (February 3, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804137935
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804137935

I absolutely loved this great cookbook.  Healthy recipes made from comfort foods you love!  Hardback book with great pictures of each dish.  I would highly recommend this book Soul Food Love to anyone, not just the seasoned cook.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.




MONSTERLAND BY MICHAEL PHILLIP CASH

Welcome to Monsterland – the scariest place on Earth. All guests can interact with real vampires in Vampire Village, be chased by an actual werewolf on the River Run, and walk among the dead in Zombieville. Wyatt Baldwin, a high school student and life-long movie buff is staring bleakly at a future of flipping burgers. Due to a fortuitous circumstance, Wyatt and his friends are invited to the star-studded opening of Monsterland. In a theme park full of real vampires, werewolves and zombies, what could possibly go wrong?


Product Details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (October 3, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1517180678
  • ISBN-13: 978-1517180676

About the Author

Michael Phillip Cash is an award-winning screenwriter and novelist. He's written eleven books including the best-selling Brood X, Stillwell, The Flip, The After House, The Hanging Tree, Witches Protection Program, Pokergeist, and Battle for Darracia series. Michael resides on the North Shore of Long Island. He writes full-time with his screaming monsters in the background. Connect with Michael on: Facebook: facebook.com/michaelphillipcash Twitter: twitter.com/michaelpcash Web: www.michaelphillipcash.com Email: michaelphillipcash@gmail.com

THE EXPERIMENT: AMERICA'S INSANITY BY DESIGN BY FRANCIS WILLIAM NICHOLSON II

CLICK TO PURCHASE


Here it is after twenty years. The Operators of the Experiment finally let him write his manuscript. Sitting up at night alone at his personal computer, unedited and written by himself. His life in Chicago becoming a Broker at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange followed by his first two Episodes. His trip to Paris, France leading up to present day. Is he sane or insane? You be the judge.

Product Details

  • File Size: 997 KB
  • Print Length: 208 pages
  • Publisher: F W N II Publishing (July 11, 2015)
  • Publication Date: July 11, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.



SUCCESS PLAN AND POSITIONING STRATEGY 7.0 by Vicente Njoku

A Motivational New Book to Improve Personal 
and Professional Performance. . . The Success Plan and Positioning Strategy 7.0 emphasizes research and strategizing to improve personal and business performance, personal and group development, and strategies to maximize potential by bridging the distance between a plan and a successful outcome. This book is a valuable resource for anyone striving to reach their goals! With an easy-to-follow blueprint for developing a success plan and positioning strategy, Njoku’s book offers fundamental elements that are essential to closing the gap between ideas and desired results, highlighting the following keys to success: Acknowledge change and work on improving areas that will help the reader achieve their goals. Create chances for success by setting realistic goals. Focus on primary objectives and avoid unwarranted distractions that may derail the reader from reaching the finish line. Think about every option and the possibilities of bringing a vision to reality. Believe a goal is attainable if the necessary steps are taken to reach it. Develop steps that will help the reader achieve primary objectives. Use the concept to develop a roadmap to take a plan from inception to completion. Manage time efficiently by acting on plans and focusing on priorities. Measure achievements, and keep or re-evaluate the plan as necessary to achieve or maintain desired results. Explore the journey through life with passion, tenacity and a success strategy designed specifically for the reader.


Product Details

  • File Size: 1155 KB
  • Print Length: 164 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press, Inc. (October 6, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 6, 2015



CHAPTER 1: SELF REALIZATION. CHAPTER 2: SELF FORGIVENESS. CHAPTER 3: MAXIMIZE YOUR GOAL WITH A STRATEGY. 3 CHAPTERS FILLED WITH USEFUL INFORMATION TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE FOR THE BETTER; ATTAIN YOUR GOALS; KEEP PLANS IN PLACE; AND BECOME A BETTER OVERALL CONSUMER WITH SUCCESS. GREAT BOOK. HARDBACK. NO MONIES WERE RECEIVED FOR THIS REVIEW FROM MR. NJOKU.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Kill the Silence (A Survivor's Life Reclaimed) by Monika Korra


In 2009, college sophomore and track star Monika Kørra was grabbed by three men on her way home from a party and brutally raped. Within hours of being released, Monika resolved that she would not be a victim – she was going to be a survivor. 

Monika had traveled from her home in Norway to Southern Methodist University in Dallas, determined to acclimate to life in the States and excited for the opportunity of a full scholarship to do what she loved. As an athlete and Olympic hopeful, Monika already knew how to train against extreme fatigue, soreness, and distraction. She was used to overcoming adversity, using obstacles like stepping stones to achieve her goals. Persistence and patience had always been her greatest tools.  She would now have to use these same qualities to regain her self-identity and find a “new normal”. 

Stripped of her sense of security, she slowly rebuilds her life with the help of her friends, family, and her own unflappable spirit. Monika shares the inspiring combination of mental and physical work that gave her the strength to win her greatest fight yet: the court case against the three men who had attacked her. She testifies against them with confidence and a fierce determination that these men would never be able to hurt anyone else, securing a life sentence. Two of them received life, one with parole and one without parole for the worst of the three. 

A large percentage of sexual assaults – upwards of 80% for female college students, like Monika was – go unreported, and 15 of every 16 rapists go free. By sharing her story, Monika hopes to inspire others to come forward and tell their own stories without shame or fear. Kill the Silence is about one woman's journey to recover from trauma and a call to arms to break the stigma that surrounds violence against women.

click to purchase

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Harmony (August 25, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804139628
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804139625


Amazing read. Being a survivor myself I could very much relate to Ms. Korra's experience and trauma related.  Monika does a fabulous job explaining the event and her experience afterwards, moving forward in her life.  I would highly recommend this book to everyone!  Great job Ms. Korra. God bless!
You are free!


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Newton, Maxwell, Einstein: What Were They Thinking?

How do you define time? Is it an illusion? Can a measurement made at one location influence a measurement made a million miles away, before a light signal can get there? Why doesn't the wind blow directly from a high-pressure region toward one of low pressure? Why are there pressure differences between different regions of the earth anyway? Is a vacuum nothing? What's waving when a light wave passes through a vacuum? Why doesn't the earliest sunset occur on the first day of winter? These questions, as well as many others are discussed in this book. It is a story of the questions that certain scientists were puzzling over, as well as the questions that their theories created. It helps us understand their theories, and appreciate their accomplishments, if we try to imagine their thoughts as they worked out their theories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (October 14, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 147875981X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478759812



TWISTED TALES, BY TONY CARNEGIE

Fictional tales are surprisingly powerful, but only those with real eyes, realize, real lies. As an amateur writer, my goal in putting this publication together was to build the reader's interest up thinking one way and close it out with a sudden twist in a different direction. The beautiful lies of novels, movies, and TV stories can have that effect. I hope these short tales were thought provoking for you. For me, I used this as a way of exploring new approaches to this age old craft as I shared these twisted tales of life's stories Tony Carnegie.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 50 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 22, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478760125
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478760122


Fighting for Freedom in America: Memoir of a "Schizophrenia" and Mainstream Cultural Delusions

In the frontiers of America's mental health institutions, fighting for freedom can become very personal. Six years into a protected clinical career as a mental health counselor, Clyde Dee moves to Seattle, and takes a job in a Section 8 housing project. Getting to the bottom of what's going on in a fractured system, he becomes embroiled in the politics of the local drug war until he decides to go off a small dose of anti-psychotic medication. Clyde then faces threats and a re-conceptualization of a fractured past and is stopped by police in an effort to exit the country. He is incarcerated in a psychiatric ward for three months and released to the streets. In the years that follow, he moves through American disparities and cultural delusions, facing some of his worst fears come true, and striving to gain back what he lost.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 328 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (September 18, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478759925
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478759928



What a great read! As a person with mental health issues myself I could relate to most of the memoir. A must read for anyone who has a person with mental illness in their lives. Go ahead and read this book. I guarantee you won't be able to put it down. Read cover to cover fast!

THE ADVENTURES OF ZEALY AND WHUBBA-A NEW LIFE BEGINS, BY ROE DE PINTO

CLICK TO PURCHASE

The Adventures of Zealy and Whubba “A New Life Begins” Book 1 Series 1 A very special welcome to a beautiful, baby girl…bright-eyed, little seal pup, that is! When adorable, little Zealy is born, Whubba couldn’t be more excited! The latest in his line of powerful orcas, he’s the protector around here―and now, he’s also going to keep Zealy safe in her new marine environment, and doing so with tender, loving care! With its bright and cheery illustrations, The Adventures of Zealy and Whubba, “a New Life Begins”, the first in a series, is appropriate for infants through age five. As Zealy grows up under Whubba’s watchful gaze, the two adventurous babies teach readers that growing with love, caring and sharing are the most important parts of family life, as they melt your heart with their precious innocence. Roe De Pinto is a graduate of a three-year program in children’s literature from the Institute of Children’s Literature. Though she started working on the Zealy and Whubba series as a legacy for her children and grandchildren, sharing the characters’ infectious smiles with children all around the world is her ultimate goal! Experience the fun and educate your children through their little escapades!

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 24 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (September 24, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478763671
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478763673


A sweet book for kids. Love the illustrations!

Monday, October 26, 2015

The Alliance by Haji Razmi


"Even if the sky falls to the ground, even if the whole world begs me, and even if all the people in the city and in the country kiss my hands and feet, I swear to God, I swear to the Prophet and I swear to the Quran that this cannot and will not happen, you all know me very well, when I say no to anything, that thing cannot be done even if it costs my life. If my son is really my son, he will never be able to do this. I am known in the whole world, from here to London, from Pakistan to America, as a hero of Jihad, so tell my son not to mess up with me..." This novel takes you on a fascinating journey into the moral, cultural, social, political and historical lifestyle of a nation where both ancient and modern empires and super powers; Alexander the Great, Genghis Khan, the Mogul Empire, Persian Empire, the British Empire, Sikh Empire, the Soviet Union and finally the richest country in the human history, the United States of America adventured but lingered in knowing the uniqueness and the real convolution of its way of life. This novel takes you deep down to that point of the journey where I bet you have never been.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 212 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (August 11, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478759283
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478759287

THE HAGEN FAMILY SECRET BY K.M. ROBERSON

This secret will change everything... After their parents abruptly move their family yet again, high school seniors and twin sisters Greer and Darcy Hagen are adjusting to their new lives in Plano, Texas. Slightly rebellious and highly perceptive, Darcy believes their parents are running away from something. When Darcy senses a strange connection to two mysterious and instantly popular new students, Lorcan and Kieran Smith, she convinces Greer, the quintessential good girl, to keep their arrival a secret from their parents. Reluctantly, Greer agrees, but when she begins to date all-around good guy Liam Alexander, she becomes the target of the beautiful and conniving Kieran, who wants him for herself. Things are further complicated when the devilishly charming Lorcan begins to show interest in Greer and the sisters uncover clues linking the Hagens and the Smiths in an unforeseeable way, unearthing a family secret Greer and Darcys parents had tried desperately to keep hidden.



About the Author

K. M. Roberson is a native Texan who lives in the Midwest with her husband and children.

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Mascot Books (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1631772899
  • ISBN-13: 978-1631772894

A great, suspenseful book for teens and young adults.  The next book should be amazing.



Losing the Plot in L.A. by Sonia Farnsworth


Sylvie is a trendy, LA party girl with more going on than she knows what to do with. Between apartment hunting, insane friends, a rapidly growing puppy, and one too many boys to juggle, shes just trying to catch her breath. Will the craziness overwhelm her, or will she find a better path to move forward? Draw a bath, pour some bubbly, and join her as she tries not to Lose the Plot.


My review:  The was a cute little, quick read of a book.  Sylvie is a party girl and this story is about her new move, meeting boys, and her best friend, her dog.  It was a fun read.  Not too heavy. This would be a good summer book, by the beach.

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Mascot Books (June 2, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1631770950
  • ISBN-13: 978-1631770951


Tenacity by J.S. Law

An officer hangs himself in the engine room of naval submarine HMS Tenacity. A woman's murder bears disturbing similarities to an old case. Lieutenant Danielle "Dan" Lewis grasps for the truth before it submerges in the gray waters of the English Channel.
Cramped, claustrophobic, and under strict command, the confines of HMS Tenacity are unwelcoming in the best of circumstances. For Dan, the only female aboard, who must methodically interrogate a tightknit and hostile crew, it's her own special place in hell.
Recently reassigned to the Special Investigation Branch's Kill Team, Dan's hardheaded reputation precedes her. But facing an obstinate ship's company, a commanding officer too eager to close the case, and a constant threat of unfriendly male interest, she learns that under enough pressure everyone has their breaking point.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"The confining, restricted, and very male atmosphere of a submerged submarine becomes vividly real as this stubborn lieutenant alienates nearly everyone around her…The unusual setting, skilled writing, and obvious veracity make this a bold first effort worth awaiting a second."―Library Journal
“Law ups the tension significantly as he brilliantly re-creates the claustrophobic feel of living on a submarine”―and concluding, “this fast-paced nail-biter starring a flawed but dynamic character. A very promising series.”―Booklist

“J.S. Law is a powerful new voice, and his heroine Dan Lewis lives up to the title. She is fearless and doesn't quit in the faces of all odds. The murky world of submarines and murder make Tenacity addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams.” ―#1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell
“Now and again, a debut novel comes along that makes you hold your breath. Tenacity by J.S. Law is one such book. Its authenticity rings true with not a false note throughout. Tense, claustrophobic, and totally absorbing, this book should be on every thriller reader's radar-or should that be sonar? Absolutely superb.” ―Matt Hilton, author of Blood and Ashes
“A taut, tense thriller with a fantastic female lead. The prose is crisp, the humor dark, and there's just the right amount of detail to ensure this has a massively broad appeal. Hard to believe this is a debut. J.S. Law is one to watch.” ―SJI Holliday, author of Black Wood
“Pacy, claustrophobic, and utterly thrilling, with a heroine you'll happily follow to the bottom of the ocean.Tenacity is a highly original debut by a major new talent. ” ―Eva Dolan, author of Long Way Home
Tenacity by J.S. Law is a brilliant debut. Breathlessly plotted. Deeply disturbing. The perfect thriller to dive into this summer.” ―Emlyn Rees, author of Wanted
“J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series.” ―Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go

About the Author

J. S. Law served in the Royal Navy Submarine Service, rising through the ranks to become a senior nuclear engineer. Tenacity is his first novel. He lives in Portsmouth, England.

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (November 3, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627794565
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627794565


Wednesday, October 21, 2015

A Secret Safe To Tell, by Naomi Hunter

A book about a child who has an adult friend who makes her feel a bit too special. His touching makes her frightened and confused. It is only when she has the courage to tell someone that her heart begins to heal. This beautifully illustrated book encourages and empowers children to speak up if someone is touching them in away that makes them uncomfortable. Based on personal experience, Hunter's book is a vitally important resource for anyone who has children in their care, including parents, teachers, counsellors, libraries and schools.


click to purchase

Product Details

  • Paperback: 38 pages
  • Publisher: JoJo Publishing (January 1, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0994183801
  • ISBN-13: 978-0994183804


This is a book about neglect, betrayal, innocence broken, and eventual trust and a strong bond friendship.
A little girl whose innocence was taken from her far to young.  She went to grown-ups and wanted to tell. But no one would believe her; plus they were all too busy to care.  Her heart felt broken and she had a heavy feeling she carried around with her...until one day she met a lady in the park. The nice older lady comforted the little girl. She made her feel special and gave the little girl her heart back.
The little girl was finally free!  His power was broken of her. She had her power back. Her heart was colorful and new again. "I am Free!" 
I absolutely loved this little book.
A great story for kids. to let them know they are not alone in this world, no matter what happens to them...there will always be SOMEONE out there who loves them, who can help them through the tough times.

Thank you Ms. Hunter for letting me read this special book.
The illustrations were amazing too.

Friday, October 16, 2015

This is an off the Book Talk post




But I wanted to invite you to check out my new Etsy shop!

Niki's Comfy Creations

I make and sell handmade baby blankets and quilts. 

Thanks for looking!

......back to our regularly scheduled reviews (comin' up)  ;)

You First: Journal Your Way to Your Best Life

by Lea Michelle
New York Times Bestselling author of Brunette Ambition

‘You first’ is about respecting and understanding what you really want—and then going out to achieve it.

In Brunette Ambition, Lea Michele shared a lot of the secrets and stories behind her success, and how she manages to live a balanced and healthy lifestyle despite her hectic schedule. Now, in her second book, she will teach readers how they, too, can be their best selves. In Lea's opinion, keeping a journal and asking yourself the hard questions about what you want out of life is the best way to achieve your dreams, so she has outlined a series of exercises, prompts, and lists based on her own personal program. Lea's guided journal will address all the topics she wrote about in Brunette Ambition, including fitness, diet, work, school, and relationships, but with all-new material to help readers reach their goals. Peppered between the advice and exercises will be fun personal anecdotes from Lea to motivate and inspire readers to put themselves first and live their best life.


Product Details

  • Journal: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype (September 22, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553447319
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553447316




This is a personal journal, split up into sections (You, Ambition, Relationships, Happiness).
Set as 'chapters'.
You start by filling out your family tree.
Each section holds journal/writing prompts.
It consists of blank pages for free writing, journal style.
I really loved the way this hardback book was laid out.
Great job Ms. Lea Michele!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

WIND KISSED BY DR. LYNN ANN MIGDAL

The Silver family is wealthy, but their money can't fix the dysfunction that tears at eleven-year-old Rebecca, who endures her parents' emotional battles and the physical and verbal abuse of her older sister. In response, Rebecca hunches over, tightening and over-contracting the muscles on the right side of her body. Over time, this has caused her spine to curve in unhealthy directions, creating pressure on her nervous system and wreaking havoc on her immune system. She also turns to the comfort of food. Rebecca's life changes dramatically when she encounters the nature spirits of the sky, who help humans find peace and health. With their help, Rebecca learns how to heal herself from verbal, food, and techno abuse. She empowers her mind, body, spirit, and nervous system with healthy foods, thoughts, breaths, and postures, and she becomes healthier and happier-allowing her to take on her mission: saving the children and the planet. Wind Kissed is an entertaining and educational fantasy novel that will empower young readers to look up at life, look up from technology, and make healthy, peaceful choices.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 134 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 23, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478753919
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478753919


My take:  I absolutely loved this little, quick read.  It was illustrated for children, but really is great for any age. A great message.  If you are always looking down (depressed) you will never look up (being positive) and you will never see the BEAUTY in life; in the Earth.  Once the main character learned to look up, look at the stars and the nature, the Earth, her life started looking up.  A fun book. A small paperback. Appropriate for any age, really.

All the Words Are Yours: Haiku on Love

Haiku on Love

by Tyler Knott Gregson-author of Chasers of the Light.

Every day for the past six years, Tyler Knott Gregson has written a simple haiku about love, and posted it online. These heartfelt poems have attracted a large and loyal following around the world. This highly anticipated follow-up to Chasers of the Light, presents Tyler’s favorites, some previously unpublished, accompanied by his signature photographs, which capture the rich texture of daily life.

This vibrant collection reveals the intimate reflections of one of poetry's most popular new voices -- honest, vulnerable, generous, and truly present in the gift that is each moment.

Tyler's Facebook page
Tyler's Instagram 
Tyler's Twitter

Product Details
  • Hardcover: 144 pages
  • Publisher: Perigee Books (October 20, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399176004
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399176005


I really loved this sweet book.  Each page was one Haiku with a nice, pleasant looking picture in the background.
My fav Haiku from the book:
It's what lives inside,
the thoughts and dreams that make you,
that lock me to you.

Great, quick read. Would make a great Christmas gift!