Tuesday, July 7, 2015

DON'T EVER CHANGE by M. Beth Bloom

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.
Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell, Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

 
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (July 7, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062036882
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062036889

  • I absolutely LOVE Bloom's writing style. A fun, fast read. A few unexpected twists. And overall a great little read. Must, must read this book.

    Editorial Reviews

    From School Library Journal

    Gr 9 Up—After Eva's English teacher Mr. Roush tells her that she needs to write what she knows, the teen decides to spend the summer between graduating high school and starting college on the other side of the country in Boston. She doesn't feel anything in her life to this point is worth putting on paper, however, and decides to try out other people's experiences. Eva becomes a camp counselor, she goes out with Elliott and considers sleeping with him, and goes out with a friend's ex-boyfriend. Nothing affects Eva like she thinks it would, but she keeps attempting to change herself to find things worth writing about. Through all of these changes, the protagonist drives away her friends and snaps at her family. Eva works hard to control what people think of her, but she makes snap judgments about others. Though told from Eva's first person point of view, she is a hard character to sympathize or empathize with as she struggles to change herself based on how she she's perceived. Her eventual growth doesn't seem to come about organically, but feels tacked on. With the exception of Eva's sister Courtney, the secondary characters are not fully fleshed out. Some references to drinking and sex make this title appropriate for mature teens. VERDICT Not a first purchase.—Natalie Struecker, Rock Island Public Library, IL

    Review

    Praise for DON’T EVER CHANGE:“With her trademark snark and wit, Eva narrates a summer unexpectedly full of romance, responsibility, and self-reflection. Bloom has created a multifaceted, often curmudgeonly protagonist who is not always kind or careful, but who is muddling through teenagerdom as best she can.” (ALA Booklist)

    Praise for DRAIN YOU“Bloom debuts with a languid, stylish novel that reads like a love letter to cult vampire flicks like The Lost Boys, the work of Francesca Lia Block, and Southern California in the 1990s.” (Publishers Weekly)

    “Bloom’s writing style is unique, blending traditional flowery verbiage with irreverent contemporary dialogue. The plot is also a pleasing blend of friendship, romance, and action with a paranormal twist.” (School Library Journal)

     

    No comments:

    Post a Comment