Wednesday, January 28, 2015

A Noble Paradise by James Crawford

click to purchase

 
 
“Would you be willing to destroy David to get the children back? An accusation can work wonders.” “At this point I’d be willing to do or say anything. But what if he fights it and they realize the accusations aren’t true? Couldn’t I get into trouble?” “That’s the beauty of it. No one’s going to come back and investigate whether you lied. The court dockets are too full for that. What’ve you got to lose?” So begins the chain of events that turns a single dad’s idyllic home into an agony of solitude. Shattered by the accusation, David must fight shame and dejection to win his children back as his life crumbles around him. Based in part on the author’s personal experiences, the novel reminds us that unselfish love between parent and child is a treasure worth fighting for. James Crawford is also the author of Mariner Valley, Seed of Aldebaran, and books in other genres. He lives in Charleston, SC and can be reached at AuthorJamesCrawford@gmail.com. “…never tedious or self-indulgent… may ring true for many readers.” – Kirkus Reviews “… a timeless story made fresh and new… ” – D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review “… a very fine novel! Highly recommended.” – Grady Harp, Author WAR SONGS, Art Historian for PoetsArtists, Art of Man, Vitruvian Lens
 
 
  • Paperback: 386 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (December 4, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1503394964
  • ISBN-13: 978-1503394964


  • About the Author

    James Crawford started writing at the age of 11 after reading the novel 'Jaws.' He writes, "I was greatly impressed with its emotional power. I started my own book, but novel writing requires more discipline than I possessed at 11 years old!” He wrote sporadically over the next 15 years or so until he saw the movie ‘The Abyss’ in 1989. “Again I was impressed by the emotional strength of the film and it rekindled in me the desire to write.” This time he stuck with it and wrote 'The Kraken,' a modern '20,000 Leagues' story, completing the 1st draft in 1992. He pushed on with Seed of Aldebaran, a futuristic story of a killer virus loose on a remote space station. As the books were still not up to professional standards, he skipped the publishing route and completed his next novel 'Mariner Valley,' a story of a police manhunt on Mars, in 1996. "By that time I had become a single dad and the pressures of that important task pushed the writing to one side." By 2000 he was remarried and decided to try his luck with on-demand publishing, releasing 'Mariner Valley' in 2001. “During this period I took time out from novels to focus on family, home, and work concerns. I only had time to write poetry and short stories, but it was good discipline. I started writing sci-fi again in 2006. By that time the Amazon and Kindle phenomenon were in full swing and I wanted to take advantage of it.” One of his books in another genre became a great success, selling thousands online. He revised 'Mariner Valley' and released it in 2012. “A better novel by far,” he writes. James knew he could make a successful career out of writing his sci-fi adventure novels, but there was one novel he wanted to write while he still had his day job. “I wanted to write 'A Noble Paradise' while still living the life of an industrial mechanic in a paper mill, while the sights and sounds and frustrations were still fresh to me. As for recreating the setting and emotions of my single dad years, I turned to my daily journal, which I have been keeping faithfully since 1995. There I documented all of the events as they happened, as well as the thoughts and emotions I experienced. Fortunately, my writing ability has progressed to the point where it could successfully tackle such a sensitive and difficult topic.” 'A Noble Paradise' is scheduled for release in early December of 2014. “I’m grateful to Amazon and Kindle for the opportunity!” He can be reached at AuthorJamesCrawford@gmail.com
     
    James Crawford. A great parent. Fight for the family. Perfect book. A larger paperback, but well worth the read!


     

    Do Not Worry, Do Not Be Anxious, Do Not Be Afraid": A Self-Help Manual for People Who Worry a Lot and Suffer Anxiety and Fear

    God has made us so that we can worry, feel anxious and be afraid. Then he directs us 200 times in the scriptures to not worry, not be anxious and not be afraid. He repeats this like a loving father who wants his children to understand this and to live by it. Those 200 passages are presented here to convince you that God is driving the bus...you have nothing to worry about. You can find great peace and comfort reading and reflecting on these passages. This is an important message for these troubled times. This is a self help manual.


  • Paperback: 220 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (September 22, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478740116
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478740117

  • About the Author

    Thomas Lamb studied for the Catholic priesthood for nine years. For five of these years he was enclosed in a contemplative monastery, where he developed a knowledge and love of sacred Scripture. Following clinical training at Indiana University Medical Center, he was appointed assistant professor in psychiatry at a major medical center. For forty years he has been treating patients with anxiety as a psychiatric therapist. Mr. Lamb also has developed therapeutic relaxation CDs titled Relax Deeply and An Authentic Treatment for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. The CDs and his book Do Not Worry, Do Not Be Anxious, Do Not Be Afraid are the culmination of four decades of clinical study, research, and practice.
            

    Biography

    Thomas left home at 14 to attend an all male high school at St. Meinrad Archabbey (Benedicton monks). The monks provided a quality education. Thomas took six years of Latin, three years of Greek and two years of French. After high school he entered a contemplative monastery for five years. His journey then took him to graduate clinical training at Indiana University Medical Center. He began his clinical work as assistant professor in psychiatry but soon landed in private clinical practice where he stayed for 40 years. His journey has been both happy and fruitful. His books and his therapeutic CDs are the fruits of his clinical work.
     
     
     
     

    The Puck Stops Here. Hockey Players' Healthy Eating Handbook, by Roxanne Tuomela

    click to purchase


    Make the Team and Out Perform Your Opponent! Tired of figuring out what and when to eat between games and practices? Are you ready to take control of your own cooler and know exactly what to throw in it to take with you to nourish your body properly between tournament games? Learn which foods give you the most ENERGY, best performance and over-all endurance...BUILD muscle and GAIN strength...Overcome your poor eating habits NOW & FOREVER...Discover which foods are killing you...You can STOP the vicious cycle of your family's diseases...No more nagging from your parents on what to eat, you're in CHARGE now! If you're low on energy, seek out Roxanne Kiely, she'll get you back on track. I've never met a person with so much passion and drive to help others. She's scored a Hat Trick with her "Puck Stops Here" nutritional book. Hockey is getting to be so competitive and skilled. Players need to realize that what they are putting into their body is equally important as the physical training they are doing. Thanks Roxanne for laying it out in such an easily digestible book form!! ~ Lance Pitlick, Former NHLer. As a youth hockey coach, I find that the majority of young elite athletes do not know how to fuel their bodies properly. And much of that begins with the need to educate their parents. Roxanne's book provides the core principles of sports nutrition. It also provides numerous examples and suggestions for others to follow. This is a great read for aspiring young athletes and their parents. ~ Travis Howe, Youth Hockey Coach. "As a hockey mom to a growing teen player, I love that this book provides quick reference suggestions for the healthiest (and quickest) solutions to eating around a busy hockey schedule! It also goes beyond and provides the supporting information and specifics for a host of health issues! Awe-some go to book for healthier skaters both now and in the future! Thank you for addressing this ongoing concern for hockey families!" ~ Shannon Gilbert, Hockey Mom.

  • Paperback: 142 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (December 5, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478738499
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478738497

  •  

    Friday, January 16, 2015

    Nicholson, by Marc Eliot

    For five decades, Jack Nicholson has been part of film history. With twelve Oscar nominations to his credit and legendary roles in films like Easy Rider, Five Easy Pieces, Terms of Endearment, The Shining, and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Nicholson creates original, memorable characters like no other actor of his generation. And his personal life has been no less of an adventure—Nicholson has always been at the center of the Hollywood elite and has courted some of the most famous and beautiful women in the world.
        Relying on years of extensive research and interviews with insiders who know Nicholson best, acclaimed biographer Marc Eliot sheds new light on Nicholson's life on and off the screen. From Nicholson’s working class childhood in New Jersey, where family secrets threatened to tear his family apart, to raucous nights on the town with Warren Beatty and tumultuous relationships with starlets like Michelle Phillips, Anjelica Huston, and Lara Flynn Boyle, to movie sets working with such legendary directors and costars as Dennis Hopper, Stanley Kubrick, Meryl Streep, and Roman Polanski, Eliot paints a sweeping picture of the breadth of Nicholson’s fifty-year career in film, as well as an intimate portrait of his personal life.
         Equally at home on the bookshelves of serious film historians and fans of compulsively readable Hollywood biographies, Nicholson is both a comprehensive tribute to a film legend and an entertaining look at a truly remarkable life.

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype; First Edition edition (October 29, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307888371
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307888372

  • This book was good in terms of it was very factual. Lots of detail given to each segment of Mr. Nicholson's life. However, it did not capture the reader. Very boring. Dry. No humor really involved. Nothing to keep me turning pages. Was hard to finish this one.

    link to purchase

     

    the haunting of sunshine girl by paige mckenzie

    purchase here

    Shortly after her sixteenth birthday, Sunshine Griffith and her mother Kat move from sunny Austin, Texas, to the rain-drenched town of Ridgemont, Washington. Though Sunshine is adopted, she and her mother have always been close, sharing a special bond filled with laughter and inside jokes. But from the moment they arrive, Sunshine feels her world darken with an eeriness she cannot place. And even if Kat doesn’t recognize it, Sunshine knows that something about their new house is just ... creepy.

    In the days that follow, things only get stranger. Sunshine is followed around the house by an icy breeze, phantom wind slams her bedroom door shut, and eventually, the laughter Sunshine hears on her first night evolves into sobs. She can hardly believe it, but as the spirits haunting her house become more frighten¬ing—and it becomes clear that Kat is in danger—Sunshine must accept what she is, pass the test before her, and save her mother from a fate worse than death.


  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Weinstein Books (March 24, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1602862729
  • ISBN-13: 978-1602862722

  • author bio:
    Paige McKenzie (Portland, Oregon): At 16 years old, Paige became the star, co-producer and co-creator of a show that receives millions of views each month. Paige is the daughter of a working actress, and grew up around sets. She has worked tirelessly to make Sunshine a success and grow her fan base, contributing content and cultivating a relationship with Sunshine's fans. In 2013 Paige was featured in three issues of Seventeen magazine as a "Pretty Amazing" finalist for her work and ownership of The Haunting of Sunshine Girl. Now nineteen, Paige continues to work every day toward the growth and success of her brand. She will be the public face of the books.


    There was suspense, fear, and a very quick read in this book.  Haunting nightmares will return to you. the reader. the age range is 12 and up, but I'm not sure I would recommend this to my 12 year old daughter.


     

    On the Way to Everywhere: A Novel by Kirsten B. Feldman

    Though she’s nicknamed for the magical Harry Potter, six-foot, dreadlocked Harry Kavanaugh doesn’t find any wonder in her daily life at an exclusive girls’ school outside of Washington, DC. In fact she wants nothing more than to chuck her lot and enter the wilds of public school—too bad she didn’t reckon on a trip to the hospital, a runaway, and a renegade or three, which just might show her a different path to everywhere.

    A great little book. The main character is described perfectly. The scene you can imagine. and I would just highly recommend this book. A very quick read.

    purchase from amazon

    author bio:
    I grew up on Cape Cod and the Connecticut shoreline and now live outside of Boston, much too far from the ocean and the sand. Reading and writing have played a central part in my life both personally and professionally. I am rarely without a book in my hand. To me the adolescent voice has such vibrancy and depth to it, whether funny or not; many of my favorite books have this point of view.
     
     
     
  • Paperback: 184 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 1 edition (September 5, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1501029657
  • ISBN-13: 978-1501029653
  •  

     
     

    Free Thought, Faith, and Science: Finding Unity Through Seeking Truth

    click to purchase from Amazon *kindle edition*



    FREE THOUGHT — SEEKING TRUTH IN FAITH AND SCIENCE

    This book is about thought—not the basic thought that we use to determine what to eat or wear or buy—but the Free Thought we use to make personal choices about the higher things of life: faith or unbelief, justice, morality, and the development and use of our creativity. Free Thought can have any outcome, including unbelief or faith, which is defined here as personal belief and trust in God, not as a religious affiliation.

    Free Thought is founded on free will. Everyone is a unique combination of a material body-mind and a spiritual soul. Free Thought is the integrated and iterative processing of information from the material and spiritual realms, in one or more common nonmaterial formats, across a mind-soul interface. Through our Free Thought, God and the spiritual force for evil change us and we change the material realm. All truthful spiritual insights and truthful disclosures through mathematics and science come from God, and it is through faith and science that we approach one whole body of truth.

    Free Thought, Faith, and Science includes definitions of terms, summaries of the author’s beliefs and background, a literature review, and a questionnaire for readers. It’s a comprehensive and thought-provoking book that will contribute to bringing more believers and nonbelievers together in an expansion of the faith-science quest for truth.

    About the Author

    Dr. Roger Pullin is a marine biologist, an associate member of Christians in Science and the Society of Ordained Scientists, a member of the Science and Religion Forum, and a member and former elder of the Union Church of Manila. He resides in Makati City, Philippines, and calls the Isle of Man home.
     
    Interesting read on the two perspectives.  I am not of the scientology faith. But I very much enjoyed this quick read.
     
  • File Size: 1058 KB
  • Print Length: 429 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press, Inc. (October 9, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  •