Monday, April 27, 2015

Cassey Ho's Hot Body Year Round

Cassey Ho, internationally renowned fitness instructor, is known for her irresistibly popular workout videos which have been shared millions of times online. She runs the #1 women's fitness channel on YouTube, Blogilates. Her unique format, POP Pilates© is a fusion of ab-chiseling, butt lifting, total body sculpting exercises that are performed using only your bodyweight. Cassey's personality is bubbly, inspiring, and infectious. But don't let the smile fool you - her workouts will leave you sweating and sore for days. By following Ho's super effective workout plans and clean-eating recipes, you will transform your body towards a stronger, sleeker, and happier version of you.

Hot Body Year Round is your ULTIMATE exercise and nutrition guide to living a fit, happy, and healthy life while sculpting your HOTTEST body.

Cassey will show you how to stay motivated throughout the year, no matter what the challenges are. You will get:

- 120 of Cassey's BEST total body transforming exercises
- The complete POP Pilates exercise library - fully photographed and easy to follow
- 20 full length workouts
- 40 brand new, ridiculously delicious & nutritious recipes
- Foods for beautiful hair, skin, and nails
- 4 complete clean eating meal plans & grocery lists that complement each season
- Cassey's personal daily meal plan
- Motivational tips to stay inspired year-round
- 256 pages of full color, glossy inspiration

click to purchase

My take:
I absolutely loved everything about this book.  There are great fitness tips, nutritional tips and information, recipes, and workout sheets to follow.  I like that this is not a diet-based book.  If you eat good (clean), drink your water, and exercise/move daily then you will feel better. The weight will come off in time. But it's about being healthy. Great book. A must read for everyone, not just the dieter.

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Harmony; 1 edition (April 7, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804139040
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804139045


  • "I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review."

    Saturday, April 25, 2015

    If You Feel Too Much, by Jamie Tworkowski

    In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, depression, and self-injury. The piece was so hauntingly beautiful that it quickly went viral, giving birth to a non-profit organization of the same name. Nine years later, To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) is an internationally-recognized leader in suicide prevention and a source of hope, encouragement, and resources for people worldwide.

    Jamie’s words have been shared hundreds of thousands of times online. They’ve shown up on T-shirts and posters and even tattoos. Now, for the first time, Jamie’s writing is available in the form of a book. If You Feel Too Much is a celebration of hope, wonder, and what it means to be human. From personal stories of struggling on days most people celebrate to offering words of strength and encouragement in moments of loss, the essays in this book invite readers to believe that it’s okay to admit to pain and it's okay to ask for help. If You Feel Too Much is an important book from one of this generation’s most important voices.

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Tarcher (May 26, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399176497
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399176494

  •  
    My take:
    When Literary & Lifestyle Publicity emailed me and kindly asked me to read and review Jamie's book "If you Feel Too Much" I gladly and quickly accepted, for numerous reasons; the main reason being that I suffer as well.  As a consumer with mental illness I can surely relate to the excerpt sent to me regarding the book.  I was anxious to get the book.  Upon receipt of the book I started reading all the enclosed materials, book bio, author interview, etc.  I was stoked to start reading.  Unfortunately, I was not as excited once I got into the meat and potatoes of the book.  This was a book of Jamie's story. His experiences with people. His stories about helping others with their struggles. and helping people on their journeys to recovery.  As a consumer I was not motivated.  I guess in my mind I had some hope that I would be fueled to do something, feel hope, recover quicker, etc.   I understand what Mr. Tworkowski was trying to convey with the book. But the delivery was weak.  Random chapters about random events.  Some were meaningful; I can agree with that.  But the reader felt disconnected to the author and his experiences.  I could not connect with the people mentioned in this book.  I stuck with the book however.  Read it cover to cover.  In the end I was pretty disappointed with the delivery.  The book MEANING had so much potential.  One last note...I believe this book was written to plug his website TWLOHA.  If you have something good to say, interesting to hear, and a story well-written, then there is no need for a plug. No need to try to get more viewers.  Just my honest review here.
    I was not paid money for this review. Just my time and my review.  If you want to check out the book for yourself you can here:

    click to purchase from amazon

    Friday, April 10, 2015

    When You Leave by Monica Ropal

    Cass has a theory: everyone eventually leaves. Her father walked out, her mother is starting a new family, and she almost lost her best friend to cancer.
    When Cass transfers to a preppy new private school, her plan is to stay anonymous by hiding her skater girl veneer beneath plaid skirts and knee socks. But when her cute locker neighbor, Cooper, takes an interest in Cass, keeping a safe distance isn't easy. And once Cass lets her guard down, the unthinkable happens: Cooper is mysteriously murdered.
    As the investigation unfolds, Cass's close friend, Gav, is suspected as the killer. Determined to find answers, she must go through her list one by one until somebody cracks. However, will uncovering the truth really give Cass what she is looking for?

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Running Press Kids (April 7, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0762454555
  • ISBN-13: 978-0762454556


  • About the Author

    Monica Ropal lives in friendly St. Paul, Minnesota with her husband and three children—whom she lovingly refers to as her three-ring circus. In addition to writing and playing ringmaster, Monica also works as a hospice nurse.
     
     
     
    My review:
    Overall, this book was a fun read.  The main character Cass had great development from the start. I really enjoyed the beginning of the book where Cass and Cooper met and connected on a deeper level.  The middle of the book did not keep my attention too much, however.  Lot of twists and turns as to who killed Cooper.  It all seemed the same to me and not as much drama happened in the middle. Towards the end the book picked up fast and wrapped up in a nice way.  The ending was somewhat predictable.  Nonetheless, the book was fun to read and great as a young adult book.  It was a pretty quick read at only 336 pages. the print seemed larger with not as much on each page. Kudos to Monica Ropal for her first book!
     

    Tuesday, April 7, 2015

    Making Nice by Matt Sumell

    Hailed as "indelible" in Entertainment Weekly's list of "20 Books We'll Read in 2015", this gut-punch of a debut about love, grief, and family "unleashes one of the most comically arresting voices this side of Sam Lipsyte's Homeland" (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

    In Matt Sumell's blazing first book, our hero Alby flails wildly against the world around him--he punches his sister (she deserved it), "unprotectos" broads (they deserved it and liked it), gets drunk and picks fights (all deserved), defends defenseless creatures both large and small, and spews insults at children, slow drivers, old ladies, and every single surviving member of his family. In each of these stories Alby distills the anguish, the terror, the humor, and the strange grace--or lack of--he experiences in the aftermath of his mother's death. Swirling at the center of Alby's rage is a grief so big, so profound, it might swallow him whole. As he drinks, screws, and jokes his way through his pain and heartache, Alby's anger, his kindness, and his capacity for good bubble up when he (and we) least expect it. Sumell delivers "a naked rendering of a heart sorting through its broken pieces to survive.*"

    Making Nice is a powerful, full-steam-ahead ride that will keep you laughing even as you try to catch your breath; a new classic about love, loss, and the fine line between grappling through grief and fighting for (and with) the only family you've got.

    *Mark Richard



  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (February 17, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627790934
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627790932

  • I enjoyed this book very much.  Humor masks the underlying pain that Alby suffers from the loss of his mother.  He causes chaos everywhere he goes. In the end this is a man just suffering from the loss of the person he loved the most, his mother. Great, quick read.


    click to purchase

    Wednesday, April 1, 2015

    The Future of God: A Practical Approach to Spirituality for Our Times by Deepak Chopra

    From the New York Times Bestselling Author. Can God be revived in a skeptical age? What would it take to give people a spiritual life more powerful than anything in the past? Deepak Chopra tackles these issues with eloquence and insight in this book.  He proposes that God lies at the source of human awareness. Therefore, any person can find the God within that transforms everyday life.
    God is in trouble. The rise of the militant atheist movement spearheaded by Richard Dawkins signifies, to many, that the deity is an outmoded myth in the modern world. Deepak Chopra passionately disagrees, seeing the present moment as the perfect time for making spirituality what it really should be: reliable knowledge about higher reality. Outlining a path to God that turns unbelief into the first step of awakening, Deepak shows us that a crisis of faith is like the fire we must pass through on the way to power, truth, and love.  

    “Faith must be saved for everyone’s sake,” he writes. “From faith springs a passion for the eternal, which is even stronger than love. Many of us have lost that passion or have never known it.” In any age, faith is a cry from the heart. God is the higher consciousness that responds to the cry. “By itself, faith can’t deliver God, but it does something more timely: It makes God possible.” 

    For three decades, Deepak Chopra has inspired millions with his profound writing and teaching. With The Future of God, he invites us on a journey of the spirit, providing a practical path to understanding God and our own place in the universe. Now, is a moment of reinvigoration, he argues. Now is moment of renewal. Now is the future.


  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Harmony; First Edition edition (November 11, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 030788497X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307884978

  •  
     
    I truly believe the world is going towards a very dark place if no one is believing in God anymore. God is my rock. My world. I need God to feel whole.
    I loved this book.
    Great message. and of course Deepak Chopra is an amazing author, person, teacher.
    Keep up the great work you do Mr. Chopra!
    a must read!
     
    "I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review."