Wednesday, September 30, 2015

FLAWD (HOW TO STOP HATING ON YOURSELF, OTHERS, AND THE THINGS THAT MAKE YOU WHO YOU ARE) BY EMILY-ANNE RIGAL

When you look in the mirror and only see your flaws, it can be hard to be your best self.
 
FLAWD is your new cheerleader—an energetic guide to seeing your flaws as the doorway to something more.

Through dynamic stories and advice from teens and celebrities around the world, FLAWD will help you to:
·       SEE yourself as perfectly imperfect.
·       TREAT life as playfully as possible.
·       THINK about what really matters.
·       EMBRACE all that makes you, YOU.
·       UNDERSTAND influence and how to use it.
·       KNOW you can be part of a flawd and powerful transformation.

Even though we exist in a culture that thrives on bullying us into believing we're never good enough as we are, FLAWD affirms that you are good enough, ready enough and important enough to be a flawd light in the world.

Are you ready to become fearless with your flaws and change the world by being yourself? Then FLAWD is the book for you.

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Perigee Books (August 18, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399174036
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399174032

  •  

    RARE BIRD; A MEMOIR OF LOSS AND LOVE BY ANNA WHISTON-DONALDSON

    A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NOW IN PAPERBACK


    "I wish I had nothing to say on the matter of loss, but I do. Because one day I encouraged my two kids to go out and play in the rain, and only one came home…."
     
    On an ordinary September day, twelve-year-old Jack is swept away in a freak neighborhood flood. His parents and younger sister are left to wrestle with the awful questions: How could God let this happen? And, Can we ever be happy again? They each fall into the abyss of grief in different ways. And in the days and months to come, they each find their faltering way toward peace.

    In Rare Bird, Anna Whiston-Donaldson unfolds a mother’s story of loss that leads, in time, to enduring hope. “Anna’s storytelling,” says Glennon Doyle Melton, “is raw and real and intense and funny.”

    With this unforgettable account of a family’s love and longing, Anna will draw you deeper into a divine goodness that keeps us—beyond all earthly circumstances—safe.

    This is a book about facing impossible circumstances and wanting to turn back the clock. It is about the flicker of hope in realizing that in times of heartbreak, God is closer than your own skin. It is about discovering that you’re braver than you think.

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Convergent Books; Reprint edition (September 8, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601425201
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601425201


  • Rare Bird is an amazing book of loss and love, grief, and how God impacts this in our lives.  Anna Whiston-Donaldson writes an amazing, quick read about turning back the clock, or the possibility of.  Is God responsible for your fate? Dig deep into this incredible memoir.  What if you had one more day left on this Earth? How would you be living it different?  Enjoy the moment. Seek the positive. Live an amazing God-filled life.

    DO NOT WORRY, DO NOT BE ANXIOUS, DO NOT BE AFRAID BY THOMAS LAMB

    CLICK FOR PURCHASE

    God has made us so that we can worry, feel anxious and be afraid. Then he directs us 200 times in the scriptures to not worry, not be anxious and not be afraid. He repeats this like a loving father who wants his children to understand this and to live by it. Those 200 passages are presented here to convince you that God is driving the bus...you have nothing to worry about. You can find great peace and comfort reading and reflecting on these passages. This is an important message for these troubled times. This is a self help manual.


  • Paperback: 220 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (September 22, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478740116
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478740117

  • A GREAT SELF-HELP MANUAL. I WOULD RECOMEND YOU TAKE THIS WITH YOU IN  YOUR PURSE OR BRIEFCASE. GREAT REMINDERS THAT GOD IS WITH US, IN SCRIPTURE, IN HEART, AND IN SOUL.

     

    A DOZEN BEANIES FOR BABY-QUICK KNITS FOR THE LITTLE ONES (ANNIE'S KNITTING)


    Super cute beanies for babies. My very favorite is the "Gnome Whimsy" hat.  Your baby will love these!  Easy to advanced patterns.

    Baby knits are always a hot trend in knitting and this book is sure to please! With a dozen different patterns, there is something for every style and preference. From our whimsical Happy Gnome to our chic Angelique, there is a special beanie for that special little one in your life. What makes this book special? With easy to intermediate skill levels, you can foray into some more complicated knitting techniques such as cables or lace while still on a smaller scale. These projects are portable and perfect for traveling! We're featuring many techniques, including cables, lace, stranded colorwork, appliqué and more!

  • Paperback: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Annie's (September 28, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1590122666
  • ISBN-13: 978-1590122662

  • click for purchase

    Wednesday, September 16, 2015

    All That Followed, by Gabriel Urza

    A bold, stunning book...The reader is drawn in not because we want to find out what happened, but why it happened..."--NPR
    A psychologically twisting novel about a politically-charged act of violence that echoes through a small Spanish town; a debut novel that the New York Times Book Review calls "a triumph."


    It's 2004 in Muriga, a quiet town in Spain's northern Basque Country, a place with more secrets than inhabitants. Five years have passed since the kidnapping and murder of a young local politician-a family man and father-and the town's rhythms have almost returned to normal. But in the aftermath of the Atocha train bombings in Madrid, an act of terrorism that rocked a nation and a world, the townspeople want a reckoning of Muriga's own troubled past: Everyone knows who pulled the trigger five years ago, but is the young man now behind bars the only one to blame? All That Followed peels away the layers of a crime complicated by history, love, and betrayal. The accounts of three townspeople in particular-the councilman's beautiful young widow, the teenage radical now in jail for the crime, and an aging American teacher hiding a traumatic past of his own-hold the key to what really happened. And for these three, it's finally time to confront what they can find of the truth.
    Inspired by a true story, All That Followed is a powerful, multifaceted novel about a nefarious kind of violence that can take hold when we least expect. Urgent, elegant, and gorgeously atmospheric, Urza's debut is a book for the world we live in now, and it marks the arrival of a brilliant new writer to watch.

     
     

    About the Author

    Gabriel Urza received his MFA from the Ohio State University. His family is from the Basque region of Spain where he lived for several years. He is a grant recipient from the Kellogg Institute for International Studies and his short fiction and essays have been published in Riverteeth, Hobart, Erlea, The Kenyon Review, West Branch, Slate and other publications. He also has a degree in law from the University of Notre Dame and has spent several years as a public defender in Reno, Nevada.


  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.; 1st edition (August 4, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627792430
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627792431

  •  

    My Life as Traci by Traci Inez Rapier

     
    Growing up as an African-American girl in Kentucky during the 1970s and 80s presented more than its share of social challenges - racial issues, getting educated in a small-town setting, and living in a loving family that struggled to make ends meet. From the moment I was born, my father already having left the house, my ordinary life has been full of extraordinary situations - all of which created a sense of life and compassion in me that prompted others to seek my advice, or help, or place as a peacemaker. That is, when I wasn't fighting to protect myself. Added to that were my two families that couldn't be more different: my loving mother and stepfather in a town of 400 in Kentucky; and a father who loved me, plus his wife who despised me, in Danville, IL. It all led to a difficult growing-up time, supported by my extended family in Kentucky. The backdrop was the late 1970s and 80s, when I went through school during a time when society was struggling to open up racially, and when everything from music to AIDS changed our views of the world. I lived it all, I watched a friend die of AIDS, and I came out of it with an understanding of life that serves me well in my profession. My Life As Traci captures the arc of my young life. It is simply written to bring readers into both the spirit of the time and to invite them into my life, but it pries open the hidden corners, which seemed to constantly surround me. Always hopeful, but never shy about detailing traumatic moments, the book brings out the way my inner world develop, first through faith in my parents, then in the faith of my friendships, and finally in the faith of my spiritual beliefs.

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (August 7, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478756497
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478756491

  • Beautiful book about real life challenges. A must- read!  Traci does a great job showing her raw, honest life growing up in the 70's and 80's as an African-American girl.  She has a great attitude on life and her spiritual beliefs keep her going.

     

    Sunday, September 6, 2015

    Bittersweet: Confessions, Secrets & Poetry by Edna Rowell

     
    Bitter Sweet a collections of events, poetry, secrets ,and confessions surrounding my life. It is about the horrible things I endured in life. Starting at the age of 5 I was molested by step-dad and it went on for a few years. My mother never believed a word I said to her about the incidents. She would just tell me to go to my room. At first I thought she didn't believe me due him beating her all the time but I later found out it was because she was afraid to lose her man. She chose him over me and I ended up being place elsewhere. I grew up very angry with her because I felt like she should of protected me instead of choosing a man over her own child. As I grew older I became very bitter and wanted answers that will never be given to me. I was living with my grandmother who was my fathers mom at the time. She was kind and loving to me but I still wasn't happy. I rebelled a lot and started joining any activity after school that I could to stay away from the house. I ended joining the Color Guard within my high school JROTC department but I needed help learning all the moves so my team could win at competitions. I got offered the help that I needed by one of my peers and she sent her cousin to come pick me up. That pick up was one of the worse things that could have happened to me. I never made it to my peers house. Instead I was taken in the opposite direction where I was later gang raped by different men and ended up pregnant by one of the guys. Even though I thought things couldn't get any worse after that I ended up being depressed and suicidal. I felt unloved and thought that the world would be better off with out me. Later on I started getting in one bad relationship after another , discovering my sexuality and learning life lessons the hard way.
     

    About the Author

    Edna Rowell is a 30-year-old mother of three. She is a strong-willed survivor with a unique perspective on life. Currently she lives in Huntsville, Alabama, where she is pursuing a master's degree in criminal justice.

    Product Details:
    • Paperback: 88 pages
    • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 26, 2015)
    • Language: English
    • ISBN-10: 1478746041
    • ISBN-13: 978-1478746041

    Click for purchase

    This book was a very quick read. It was interesting. Very graphic at times and a little disturbing, to say the least. But overall it was a raw look into Ms. Rowell's past.  I loved the cover art on the front of the book.

    Tuesday, September 1, 2015

    The New Sugar & Spice (recipe book) by Samantha Seneviratne

    Raise your desserts to a whole new level of flavor with The New Sugar & Spice, a collection of more than eighty unique, unexpected, and uniformly delicious recipes for spice-centric sweets. Veteran baker Samantha Seneviratne’s recipes will open your eyes to a world of baking possibilities: Her spicy, pepper-flecked Chile-Chocolate Truffles prove that heat and sweet really do go hand-in-hand, and a fresh batch of aromatic, cinnamon-laced Maple Sticky Buns will have the whole family racing into the kitchen.

    Discover new recipes from around the globe, such as Sri Lankan Love Cake or Swedish-inspired Saffron Currant Braid. Or, give your classic standbys a bold upgrade, such as making Raspberry Shortcakes with zingy Double Ginger Biscuits. Filled with fascinating histories, origin stories, and innovative uses for the world’s most enticing spices—including vanilla, cinnamon, peppercorns, and cardamom —The New Sugar & Spice guarantees that dessert will be the most talked-about part of your meal.


  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Ten Speed Press (September 8, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607747464
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607747468

  • My review:
    The most unique, fascinating, and yummy tasing desserts one can imagine come equipped in one great book!  Ms. Seneviratne does a fine job at bringing us into her childhood with these unique desserts.  Great recipe book.  A nice collector's book, as well as conversation piece.


    click to purchase

    I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.