Monday, October 26, 2015

The Alliance by Haji Razmi


"Even if the sky falls to the ground, even if the whole world begs me, and even if all the people in the city and in the country kiss my hands and feet, I swear to God, I swear to the Prophet and I swear to the Quran that this cannot and will not happen, you all know me very well, when I say no to anything, that thing cannot be done even if it costs my life. If my son is really my son, he will never be able to do this. I am known in the whole world, from here to London, from Pakistan to America, as a hero of Jihad, so tell my son not to mess up with me..." This novel takes you on a fascinating journey into the moral, cultural, social, political and historical lifestyle of a nation where both ancient and modern empires and super powers; Alexander the Great, Genghis Khan, the Mogul Empire, Persian Empire, the British Empire, Sikh Empire, the Soviet Union and finally the richest country in the human history, the United States of America adventured but lingered in knowing the uniqueness and the real convolution of its way of life. This novel takes you deep down to that point of the journey where I bet you have never been.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 212 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (August 11, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478759283
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478759287

THE HAGEN FAMILY SECRET BY K.M. ROBERSON

This secret will change everything... After their parents abruptly move their family yet again, high school seniors and twin sisters Greer and Darcy Hagen are adjusting to their new lives in Plano, Texas. Slightly rebellious and highly perceptive, Darcy believes their parents are running away from something. When Darcy senses a strange connection to two mysterious and instantly popular new students, Lorcan and Kieran Smith, she convinces Greer, the quintessential good girl, to keep their arrival a secret from their parents. Reluctantly, Greer agrees, but when she begins to date all-around good guy Liam Alexander, she becomes the target of the beautiful and conniving Kieran, who wants him for herself. Things are further complicated when the devilishly charming Lorcan begins to show interest in Greer and the sisters uncover clues linking the Hagens and the Smiths in an unforeseeable way, unearthing a family secret Greer and Darcys parents had tried desperately to keep hidden.



About the Author

K. M. Roberson is a native Texan who lives in the Midwest with her husband and children.

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Mascot Books (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1631772899
  • ISBN-13: 978-1631772894

A great, suspenseful book for teens and young adults.  The next book should be amazing.



Losing the Plot in L.A. by Sonia Farnsworth


Sylvie is a trendy, LA party girl with more going on than she knows what to do with. Between apartment hunting, insane friends, a rapidly growing puppy, and one too many boys to juggle, shes just trying to catch her breath. Will the craziness overwhelm her, or will she find a better path to move forward? Draw a bath, pour some bubbly, and join her as she tries not to Lose the Plot.


My review:  The was a cute little, quick read of a book.  Sylvie is a party girl and this story is about her new move, meeting boys, and her best friend, her dog.  It was a fun read.  Not too heavy. This would be a good summer book, by the beach.

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Mascot Books (June 2, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1631770950
  • ISBN-13: 978-1631770951


Tenacity by J.S. Law

An officer hangs himself in the engine room of naval submarine HMS Tenacity. A woman's murder bears disturbing similarities to an old case. Lieutenant Danielle "Dan" Lewis grasps for the truth before it submerges in the gray waters of the English Channel.
Cramped, claustrophobic, and under strict command, the confines of HMS Tenacity are unwelcoming in the best of circumstances. For Dan, the only female aboard, who must methodically interrogate a tightknit and hostile crew, it's her own special place in hell.
Recently reassigned to the Special Investigation Branch's Kill Team, Dan's hardheaded reputation precedes her. But facing an obstinate ship's company, a commanding officer too eager to close the case, and a constant threat of unfriendly male interest, she learns that under enough pressure everyone has their breaking point.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"The confining, restricted, and very male atmosphere of a submerged submarine becomes vividly real as this stubborn lieutenant alienates nearly everyone around her…The unusual setting, skilled writing, and obvious veracity make this a bold first effort worth awaiting a second."―Library Journal
“Law ups the tension significantly as he brilliantly re-creates the claustrophobic feel of living on a submarine”―and concluding, “this fast-paced nail-biter starring a flawed but dynamic character. A very promising series.”―Booklist

“J.S. Law is a powerful new voice, and his heroine Dan Lewis lives up to the title. She is fearless and doesn't quit in the faces of all odds. The murky world of submarines and murder make Tenacity addictively readable, and memories of it linger like dreams.” ―#1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell
“Now and again, a debut novel comes along that makes you hold your breath. Tenacity by J.S. Law is one such book. Its authenticity rings true with not a false note throughout. Tense, claustrophobic, and totally absorbing, this book should be on every thriller reader's radar-or should that be sonar? Absolutely superb.” ―Matt Hilton, author of Blood and Ashes
“A taut, tense thriller with a fantastic female lead. The prose is crisp, the humor dark, and there's just the right amount of detail to ensure this has a massively broad appeal. Hard to believe this is a debut. J.S. Law is one to watch.” ―SJI Holliday, author of Black Wood
“Pacy, claustrophobic, and utterly thrilling, with a heroine you'll happily follow to the bottom of the ocean.Tenacity is a highly original debut by a major new talent. ” ―Eva Dolan, author of Long Way Home
Tenacity by J.S. Law is a brilliant debut. Breathlessly plotted. Deeply disturbing. The perfect thriller to dive into this summer.” ―Emlyn Rees, author of Wanted
“J.S. Law's taut crime novel oozes authenticity. I read this in a day and can't wait for the next in what will undoubtedly be an explosive series.” ―Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go

About the Author

J. S. Law served in the Royal Navy Submarine Service, rising through the ranks to become a senior nuclear engineer. Tenacity is his first novel. He lives in Portsmouth, England.

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (November 3, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627794565
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627794565


Wednesday, October 21, 2015

A Secret Safe To Tell, by Naomi Hunter

A book about a child who has an adult friend who makes her feel a bit too special. His touching makes her frightened and confused. It is only when she has the courage to tell someone that her heart begins to heal. This beautifully illustrated book encourages and empowers children to speak up if someone is touching them in away that makes them uncomfortable. Based on personal experience, Hunter's book is a vitally important resource for anyone who has children in their care, including parents, teachers, counsellors, libraries and schools.


click to purchase

Product Details

  • Paperback: 38 pages
  • Publisher: JoJo Publishing (January 1, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0994183801
  • ISBN-13: 978-0994183804


This is a book about neglect, betrayal, innocence broken, and eventual trust and a strong bond friendship.
A little girl whose innocence was taken from her far to young.  She went to grown-ups and wanted to tell. But no one would believe her; plus they were all too busy to care.  Her heart felt broken and she had a heavy feeling she carried around with her...until one day she met a lady in the park. The nice older lady comforted the little girl. She made her feel special and gave the little girl her heart back.
The little girl was finally free!  His power was broken of her. She had her power back. Her heart was colorful and new again. "I am Free!" 
I absolutely loved this little book.
A great story for kids. to let them know they are not alone in this world, no matter what happens to them...there will always be SOMEONE out there who loves them, who can help them through the tough times.

Thank you Ms. Hunter for letting me read this special book.
The illustrations were amazing too.

Friday, October 16, 2015

This is an off the Book Talk post




But I wanted to invite you to check out my new Etsy shop!

Niki's Comfy Creations

I make and sell handmade baby blankets and quilts. 

Thanks for looking!

......back to our regularly scheduled reviews (comin' up)  ;)

You First: Journal Your Way to Your Best Life

by Lea Michelle
New York Times Bestselling author of Brunette Ambition

‘You first’ is about respecting and understanding what you really want—and then going out to achieve it.

In Brunette Ambition, Lea Michele shared a lot of the secrets and stories behind her success, and how she manages to live a balanced and healthy lifestyle despite her hectic schedule. Now, in her second book, she will teach readers how they, too, can be their best selves. In Lea's opinion, keeping a journal and asking yourself the hard questions about what you want out of life is the best way to achieve your dreams, so she has outlined a series of exercises, prompts, and lists based on her own personal program. Lea's guided journal will address all the topics she wrote about in Brunette Ambition, including fitness, diet, work, school, and relationships, but with all-new material to help readers reach their goals. Peppered between the advice and exercises will be fun personal anecdotes from Lea to motivate and inspire readers to put themselves first and live their best life.


Product Details

  • Journal: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Crown Archetype (September 22, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553447319
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553447316




This is a personal journal, split up into sections (You, Ambition, Relationships, Happiness).
Set as 'chapters'.
You start by filling out your family tree.
Each section holds journal/writing prompts.
It consists of blank pages for free writing, journal style.
I really loved the way this hardback book was laid out.
Great job Ms. Lea Michele!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

WIND KISSED BY DR. LYNN ANN MIGDAL

The Silver family is wealthy, but their money can't fix the dysfunction that tears at eleven-year-old Rebecca, who endures her parents' emotional battles and the physical and verbal abuse of her older sister. In response, Rebecca hunches over, tightening and over-contracting the muscles on the right side of her body. Over time, this has caused her spine to curve in unhealthy directions, creating pressure on her nervous system and wreaking havoc on her immune system. She also turns to the comfort of food. Rebecca's life changes dramatically when she encounters the nature spirits of the sky, who help humans find peace and health. With their help, Rebecca learns how to heal herself from verbal, food, and techno abuse. She empowers her mind, body, spirit, and nervous system with healthy foods, thoughts, breaths, and postures, and she becomes healthier and happier-allowing her to take on her mission: saving the children and the planet. Wind Kissed is an entertaining and educational fantasy novel that will empower young readers to look up at life, look up from technology, and make healthy, peaceful choices.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 134 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (July 23, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478753919
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478753919


My take:  I absolutely loved this little, quick read.  It was illustrated for children, but really is great for any age. A great message.  If you are always looking down (depressed) you will never look up (being positive) and you will never see the BEAUTY in life; in the Earth.  Once the main character learned to look up, look at the stars and the nature, the Earth, her life started looking up.  A fun book. A small paperback. Appropriate for any age, really.

All the Words Are Yours: Haiku on Love

Haiku on Love

by Tyler Knott Gregson-author of Chasers of the Light.

Every day for the past six years, Tyler Knott Gregson has written a simple haiku about love, and posted it online. These heartfelt poems have attracted a large and loyal following around the world. This highly anticipated follow-up to Chasers of the Light, presents Tyler’s favorites, some previously unpublished, accompanied by his signature photographs, which capture the rich texture of daily life.

This vibrant collection reveals the intimate reflections of one of poetry's most popular new voices -- honest, vulnerable, generous, and truly present in the gift that is each moment.

Tyler's Facebook page
Tyler's Instagram 
Tyler's Twitter

Product Details
  • Hardcover: 144 pages
  • Publisher: Perigee Books (October 20, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399176004
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399176005


I really loved this sweet book.  Each page was one Haiku with a nice, pleasant looking picture in the background.
My fav Haiku from the book:
It's what lives inside,
the thoughts and dreams that make you,
that lock me to you.

Great, quick read. Would make a great Christmas gift!



MEN & CATS

BY MARIE-EVA GATUINGT AND ALICE CHAYGNEAUD
CREATORS OF DES HAMMES ET DES CHATONS

click to purchase


A brilliant collection of photographs that brings together two of the world's favorite things: hot men and cute kittens.

Based on the chic French Tumblr Des Hommes et des Chatons, Men & Cats presents an original collection of 50 pairs of sexy men and adorable cats. Each clever match-up shows a heartthrob posing alongside a cat in a similar pose or with a similar expression. Not sure if you want to look at sexy men or cute cats? With this book, you don't have to choose.

My take:
What an interesting, unique book.
This book is exactly what the title says...men and cats.
On the left side of the page you see a hot man.  On the right side of the page you see a sweet cat.
'Nuf said. LOL. I found this book entertaining. But am not sure the 'point' of it. hahaha. It gave me a laugh. Don't know if that was the point. But it was fun to flip through. No words in this book, just pics.

Monday, October 12, 2015

YOU ME WE...AND THE OTHER BY D.A. SCOTT

"Why am I here?" … "What is the purpose of life?" … "Why do we suffer?" … These age old questions are explored in a new model of creation that fills the paradoxical gaps between science and religion. This thought provoking, carefully crafted study connects the dots between theology, mysticism, physics, and psychology. The puzzle pieces of history fit nicely together unveiling an eloquent picture of nature that has remained hidden until this point in time. You’ll have answers to some of the most haunting questions such as "Why does God let bad things happen to good people?" and "Why does history continue to repeat itself in spite of what we know about its sordid past?"




What a fascinating book!  It was an easy, quick read for me.  Made lots of sense. I particularly enjoyed the chapters "Collectives" and "Look Closer, Study of a Collective".
Have you ever wondered if there is a God? A real "God"?
Scott talks extensively about the core complex. The inner YOU.
That too much focus is put on the 'collective' /churches, for example, and not on the SELF.
Focus on YOU.
I really enjoyed this little book.

Thank you Mr. Scott for sending me this fine read.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

POKERGEIST BY MICHAEL PHILLIP CASH

CLICK FOR PURCHASE


Sometimes life, as well as death, is about second chances. Luckless Telly Martin doesn't have a clue. An awful gambler trying to scrape by as a professional poker player, he becomes the protégé of world famous poker champion Clutch Henderson. The only catch…Clutch is a ghost. Telly and Clutch must navigate the seedy gambling underbelly of Las Vegas learning to trust each other in order to win the elusive International Series of Poker, repair their shattered personal relationships and find redemption in this life and the hereafter.



  • Paperback: 266 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (July 15, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1512074969
  • ISBN-13: 978-1512074963

Biography

Michael Phillip Cash is an award-winning screenwriter and novelist. He's written ten books including the best-selling Brood X, Stillwell, The Flip, The After House, The Hanging Tree, Witches Protection Program, Pokergeist and Battle for Darracia series.

Michael resides on the North Shore of Long Island. He writes full-time with his screaming kids in the background.

TRAUMA BOND BY LAWRENCE SWAIM

If the world seems more violent these days, it's not your imagination—there's far too much aggression, coercion and deceit. And powerful institutions such as corporations and governments are getting better at hiding and rationalizing the harm they do. But it doesn't have to be that way: Trauma Bond: An Inquiry into the Nature of Evil shows how breaking free of the cycle of aggression and violence starts with you, and can start today.

When aggression becomes evil, it turns into an extraordinarily dangerous and malignant force that threatens to destroy the planet. This fascinating book demonstrates at length how aggression and evil replicate themselves in the world, and how we can break free from the toxic cycle of psychological and physical violence. We can begin this process today, in order to make this world safer, both for ourselves and for our children.


  • Paperback: 599 pages
  • Publisher: Psyche Books (March 16, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1780998783
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780998787


THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT BY HELEN PHILLIPS

A young wife's new job pits her against the unfeeling machinations of the universe in a first novel Ursula K. Le Guin hails as "funny, sad, scary, beautiful. I love it."
In a windowless building in a remote part of town, the newly employed Josephine inputs an endless string of numbers into something known only as The Database. After a long period of joblessness, she's not inclined to question her fortune, but as the days inch by and the files stack up, Josephine feels increasingly anxious in her surroundings-the office's scarred pinkish walls take on a living quality, the drone of keyboards echoes eerily down the long halls. When one evening her husband Joseph disappears and then returns, offering no explanation as to his whereabouts, her creeping unease shifts decidedly to dread.
As other strange events build to a crescendo, the haunting truth about Josephine's work begins to take shape in her mind, even as something powerful is gathering its own form within her. She realizes that in order to save those she holds most dear, she must penetrate an institution whose tentacles seem to extend to every corner of the city and beyond. Both chilling and poignant, The Beautiful Bureaucrat is a novel of rare restraint and imagination. With it, Helen Phillips enters the company of Murakami, Bender, and Atwood as she twists the world we know and shows it back to us full of meaning and wonder-luminous and new.



  • Hardcover: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (August 11, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627793763
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627793766





  • click for purchase