Thursday, December 24, 2015

The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting by Suzanne Brooker

A landscape painting guide for oil painters that breaks landscapes down into component elements from nature, and showcases tools and techniques used by classic and modern oil painters for bringing these scenes to life.
     Landscape painting is one of the most popular subjects for painters working in the medium of oils--from classic masters to contemporary artists. In The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting, established Watson-Guptill author and noted instructor/painter Suzanne Brooker presents the fundamentals necessary for mastering landscape oil painting, breaking landscapes down into component parts: sky, terrain, trees, and water. Each featured element builds off the previous, with additional lessons on the latest brushes, paints, and other tools used by artists. Key methods like observation, rendering, and color mixing are supported by demonstration paintings and samples from a variety of the best landscape oil painters of all time. With The Elements of Landscape Oil Painting, oil painters looking to break into landscape painting or enhance their work will find all the necessary ingredients for success.

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Watson-Guptill; First Edition edition (August 18, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804137552
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804137553]


I've always only used acrylics for my painting, but after reading through this hardback book I am definitely going to try my hand at oil painting, especially landscapes.  There are many great ideas for the novice artist even.  This book explains color in detail, which I believe is the core of understanding how to make a professional, great-looking painting.  There are many photos in this book, which is pleasing to the eye. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in the arts, not just painters.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.


Monday, December 14, 2015

Teddy Bears are here!

I recently read and reviewed "A Secret Safe to Tell" by Naomi Hunter.


She contacted me to let me know she is now selling teddy bears to accompany her wonderful book.


If you would like to make a purchase of either you can visit her website HERE and send her a message.


I thought her book was amazing and this is such a great cause.




From the author herself:


Each bear comes with a custom made, A Secret Safe to Tell ribbon and a special naming card that allows the lucky owner to name their bear.
We have a small brown bear (second from the right) that is $10, a medium white bear (far left) that is $15 and three large bears (grey, brown and cream) that are $20 each. Postage is $8 (for 1-3 bears) or $13 with a hardcover book ($25 for the book).
The perfect gift for any kids, or adults, who have previously connected with my book, or anyone who you would like to introduce to A Secret Safe to Tell.


Thanks again, Ms. Hunter, for letting me read and review your book.

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Little Miss Basic: A Parody (Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME by Dan Zevin

Little Miss Basic loves her Uggs, her pumpkin spice lattes, and texting her totes amaze Basic B*tches. But when she gets dumped by her BAE, Mr. Douchebag, she feels sad and ratchet inside. How can a Basic bounce back?
Meet her friends from the Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME parody series: Mr. Selfie, Little Miss Overshare, and Mr. Humblebrag! 

About the Author

Dan Zevin is a Thurber Prize-winning humorist. Two of his books, Dan Gets a Minivan andThe Day I Turned Uncool, were optioned by Adam Sandler, and the latter is now being developed for NBC by Jeffrey Katzenberg, Seth Grahame-Smith, and Lauren Rogen.

Dan has been an award-winning humor columnist for the New York Times, a comic commentator for NPR, and a contributor to print or digital editions of The New YorkerMcSweeney’sRolling StoneSalon, the L.A. TimesReal Simple, and Parents, among others. His latest project is a series of picture book parodies featuring adorably annoying adults, including Mr. Selfie, Little Miss Overshare, Mr. Humblebrag, and Little Miss Basic.

Product Details

  • Series: Little Miss and Mr. ME ME ME
  • Paperback: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Three Rivers Press (October 6, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1101904445
  • ISBN-13: 978-1101904442


Well, I know this book is a parody. You need to keep this in mind while reading this book. There is nothing really 'funny' about it in my opinion. It is crude, rude, and kind of degrading, to say the least. The author uses words like 'douchebag' and "MILF". I'm sure you know what that means. Is it necessary in funny/comedic books to use such language? I do not recommend this book to anyone. 

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

 

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

WITCHES PROTECTION PROGRAM by Michael Phillip Cash

click to purchase

Wes Rockville, a disgraced law enforcement agent, is given one last chance to prove himself and save his career when he's reassigned to a 232 year old secret government organization. The Witches Protection Program.

His first assignment: uncover a billion-dollar Cosmetics company’s diabolical plan of using witchcraft for global domination, while protecting its heiress Morgan Pendragon from her aunt’s evil deeds.

Reluctantly paired with veteran witch protector, Alastair Verne, Wes must learn to believe in both witches and himself.

Filled with adventure, suspense and a rousing good time, Michael Phillip Cash creates a tongue-in-cheek alternate reality where witches cast spells and wreak havoc in modern day New York City.


Product Details

  • File Size: 2266 KB
  • Print Length: 239 pages
  • Publisher: Red Feather Publishing (May 25, 2015)
  • Publication Date: May 25, 2015

The main character Wes Rockville has some trouble developing the skills needed to be a stellar law enforcement agent like his father.  When he fails at his job, he is sent to a special assignment in a department that is ran by his father.  He reports to a secret government agency, The Witches Protection Program where he is paired with veteran agent Alastair Verne and begins to see things he never believed existed.  A famous cosmetic company run by witches is using witchcraft to attempt world domination. Wes is thrown into a world he never knew as soon as he gets into his new department. From that moment on things happen that push him to believe the impossible and open his mind to new ideas, beliefs and friends.  This book was a quick read for me and as a first time reader of Michael Phillip Cash books I know I will enjoy reading more of his stories.