Monday, June 27, 2016

Food With Friends. The Art of Simple Gatherings. by Leela Cyd

The best gatherings are simple, yet somehow special. They might begin with an impromptu picnic after shopping at the farmer’s market or a late lunch with neighbors that stretches into cocktails under the stars. Whatever the occasion, this picture-perfect cookbook shows how to turn any meal into a delectable affair. These effortless recipes for brunch, teatime, happy hours, picnics, potlucks, and dessert all include a whimsical twist: a few slices of French toast doused in lavender syrup, rainbow chard empanadas served with pistachio crema, or a vibrant purple cauliflower hummus. With tips on creating an inviting table, stocking a pantry to make last-minute nibbles, and packing delicious parting gifts for guests, Food with Friends will inspire any get-together, however large or small.



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter; Unabridged Edition edition (March 29, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0804187096
  • ISBN-13: 978-0804187091

Leela Cyd is from Santa Barbara, California. She is a lifestyle and food photographer, shooting for editorial clients such as Sweet Paul magazine, Kinfolk and Conde Nast Traveler. Food with Friends: The Art of Simple Gatherings focuses on accessible, quick and joyful food to share.

Beet-pickled eggs, South Indian-Style Veg Cutlets, and Irish Soda Bread are just a few of the yummy looking recipes in this fabulous cookbook.  I absolutely loved this cookbook.  I enjoyed reading about the recipes for 'spa waters'. How fun and nutritious would that be!?  You must pick up this fun cookbook now!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Becoming Phoebe, by J. Michael Neal

Eighteen-year-old Phoebe Rose spent her childhood in one foster household after another, never having a place she could feel safe or group of friends she belonged to. What kept her going was hockey. The rink was the only place she felt at home.
     Now what she wants more than anything is to play on her college hockey team--to leave her past behind and start building a new life. But she knows things are never that simple. Becoming Phoebe is about painful secrets, unexpected friendships, and joining a team so you can become your true self.

Becoming Phoebe won a Bronze Medal for Best Regional Fiction - Midwest from the 2016 IPPY Awards.




 

Product Details

  • Paperback: 422 pages
  • Publisher: Melancholy Donkey Press (February 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0997025808
  • ISBN-13: 978-0997025804

Never a Dull Moment: 1971 The Year That Rock Exploded

A rollicking look at 1971 - the busiest, most innovative and resonant year of the 70s, defined by the musical arrival of such stars as David Bowie, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and Joni Mitchell
On New Year's Eve, 1970, Paul McCartney told his lawyers to issue the writ at the High Court in London, effectively ending The Beatles. You might say this was the last day of the pop era.
The following day, which was a Friday, was 1971. You might say this was the first day of the rock era. And within the remaining 364 days of this monumental year, the world would hear Don McLean's "American Pie," The Rolling Stones' "Brown Sugar," The Who's "Baba O'Riley," Zeppelin's "Stairway to Heaven," Rod Stewart's "Maggie May," Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On," and more.
David Hepworth, an ardent music fan and well regarded critic, was twenty-one in '71, the same age as many of the legendary artists who arrived on the scene. Taking us on a tour of the major moments, the events and songs of this remarkable year, he shows how musicians came together to form the perfect storm of rock and roll greatness, starting a musical era that would last longer than anyone predicted. Those who joined bands to escape things that lasted found themselves in a new age, its colossal start being part of the genre's staying power.
Never a Dull Moment is more than a love song to the music of 1971. It's also an homage to the things that inspired art and artists alike. From Soul Train to The Godfather, hot pants to table tennis, Hepworth explores both the music and its landscapes, culminating in an epic story of rock and roll's best year.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (June 7, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627793992
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627793995




A lot of great music came out of this year. And, the year I was born! So I was partial to this book. A fun read.

Passport To Heavenly Eternal Life, by Camilo Graza

OUR ULTIMATE GOAL-"PASSPORT TO HEAVENLY ETERNAL LIFE." This book reveals the purpose of God in creating this vast universe including humankind. He created us as His masterpiece for His glory. But we transgressed and become unfit to serve Him. Although our sins are red as crimson, it still can become white as snow. God expects a complete surrender of our lives to Him, by refraining from our misdeeds and follow the footsteps of His son Jesus Christ, who shed His blood and died for us in the cross. God did not just create us for nothing but had adopted us His children, as the Bible says: "The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God's children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs-heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share His sufferings in order that we may also share His glory." Romans 8:16-17. The Bible further says; "He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son." Revelation 21:7; and He said, "I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me." Matthew 18:3-5.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 218 pages
  • Publisher: Outskirts Press (April 17, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1478748583
  • ISBN-13: 978-1478748588



In The Country We Love .....Michelle Burford

The star of Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin presents her personal story of the real plight of undocumented immigrants in this country
Diane Guerrero, the television actress from the megahit Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, was just fourteen years old on the day her parents were detained and deported while she was at school. Born in the U.S., Guerrero was able to remain in the country and continue her education, depending on the kindness of family friends who took her in and helped her build a life and a successful acting career for herself, without the support system of her family.
In the Country We Love is a moving, heartbreaking story of one woman's extraordinary resilience in the face of the nightmarish struggles of undocumented residents in this country. There are over 11 million undocumented immigrants living in the US, many of whom have citizen children, whose lives here are just as precarious, and whose stories haven't been told. Written with bestselling author Michelle Burford, this memoir is a tale of personal triumph that also casts a much-needed light on the fears that haunt the daily existence of families likes the author's and on a system that fails them over and over.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (May 3, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627795278
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627795272


Raw, honest, Diane Guerrero does a fine job in this book about her struggles. A must-read!




Wednesday, June 15, 2016

BULLIES. A FRIENDSHIP. by Alex Abramovich

click to purchase


The powerful account of one writer's unlikely friendship with his childhood bully, now the president of a motorcycle club in one of America's most dangerous cities.
Once upon a time, Alex Abramovich and Trevor Latham were mortal enemies: miniature outlaws in a Long Island elementary school, perpetually at each other's throats. Then they lost track of each other. Decades later, when they met again, Abramovich was a writer and Latham had become President of the East Bay Rats, a motorcycle club in Oakland.
In 2010, Abramovich moved to California to immerse himself in Latham's world - one of fight clubs, booze-filled nights, and beat-downs on the city's streets. But dangerous, dysfunctional Oakland was also becoming one of America's most rapidly gentrifying cities, and the questions Abramovich had arrived with were thrown into brutal relief: How do we live with the burden of violence? How do we overcome it? Do we overcome it?
As Trevor, the Rats, and the city they live in careen between crises and moments of renaissance, Abramovich explores issues of friendship, family, history, and destiny - and looks at what happens when those things fail. Bullies is at once a vivid, visceral narrative of an unusual friendship and an incisive portrait of a beautiful, terrible city.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (March 8, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0805094288
  • ISBN-13: 978-0805094282

Being bullied myself in school I really enjoyed reading this book by Alex Abramovich. This is the story of his experience with his bully and in the end how it all turned out okay. A must read. 

IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN...COLONIAL AMERICA by Carole P. Roman

Join Carole P. Roman and travel through time to visit the most interesting civilizations throughout history in the first four books of her new series. Learn what kind of food you might eat in Ancient Greece, the clothes you wore in 15th century Renaissance Italy, what your name could be in Elizabethan England, and what Colonial American children did for fun. If You Were Me and Lived in...does for history what her other award-winning series did for culture. So get on-board this time-travel machine and discover the world through the eyes of a young person just like you.


Product Details

  • Series: An Introduction to Civilizations Throughout Time
  • Paperback: 64 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (April 28, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1523234075
  • ISBN-13: 978-1523234073


About the Author

Carole P. Roman’s is the award winning author of the nonfiction If You Were Me and Lived in… series of children’s books. The first title in the collection, If You Were Me and Lived in…Mexico, won the Pinnacle Award for Best in Children’s Nonfiction in 2012. If You Were Me and Lived in…Russia and If You Were Me and Lived in...France were finalists in the Indie Fab Foreword Review Book of the Year. Norway and South Korea have also been named as Book of the Year with Rebecca's Reads and Children's Reader's View Book of the Year. Roman has also found success with her Captain No Beard children’s books. Her debut, Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life, was named a Kirkus Best of 2012, received a Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award in 2012. Roman lives on Long Island with her husband and very near her children.

She writes such sweet books about traveling the world. Great for kids, and adults as well.

IF YOU WERE ME AND LIVED IN...RENAISSANCE ITALY, by Carole P. Roman

Join Carole P. Roman and travel through time to visit the most interesting civilizations throughout history in the first four books of her new series. Learn what kind of food you might eat in Ancient Greece, the clothes you wore in 15th century Renaissance Italy, what your name could be in Elizabethan England, and what Colonial American children did for fun. If You Were Me and Lived in...does for history what her other award-winning series did for culture. So get on-board this time-travel machine and discover the world through the eyes of a young person just like you.


Product Details

  • Series: An Introduction to Civilizations Throughout Time
  • Paperback: 56 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 6, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 152323427X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1523234271


Beautiful illustrations. Sweet story book. Great for all ages, really. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

Sunday, June 12, 2016

THE ACRYLIC PAINTER, by James Van Patten

A complete course on acrylic painting for beginners and experienced artists that covers classic approaches and new innovations 

Embraced for versatility, quick-drying properties, and non-toxicity, no medium offers a wider range of effects forcreating highly expressive art than acrylics. With its flexibility and ease of use, acrylic paint is a must-try for painters—no matter your skill level.

Here noted artist and School of Visual Arts instructor James Van Patten draws from years of experience to show you how to use acrylics to achieve a variety of results—from watercolor-like transparency and the flatness of tempera and gouache to the buttery quality of oils. He presents an insider’s look at the most up-to-date tools, materials, and techniques used by top painters in the medium to produce highly expressive art.

Van Patten offers guidance on materials, processes, balance, and composition, and focuses on effectively using color in painting. Replete with detailed step-by-step technical demonstrations and a catalog of inspiring works by notable past and contemporary artists, as well as the author himself and his students, The Acrylic Painter provides a complete, classic art instruction manual for painters of all abilities in one of today’s most popular types of paint.


Product Details

  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Watson-Guptill (April 26, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385346115
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385346115

I am an acrylic painter/artist and I very much enjoyed this informative book.  Everything you need to know about starting your painting adventures!  I loved the section on color theory basics. There are clear instructions with great pictures for reference. A must-own book for the beginner painter all the way to the seasoned one. 


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

A MEMOIR OF MY FATHER THE SONG POET, by Kao Kalia Yang

click to purchase

From the author of The Latehomecomer, a powerful memoir of her father, a Hmong song poet who sacrificed his gift for his children's future in America
In the Hmong tradition, the song poet recounts the story of his people, their history and tragedies, joys and losses; extemporizing or drawing on folk tales, he keeps the past alive, invokes the spirits and the homeland, and records courtships, births, weddings, and wishes.
Following her award-winning book The Latehomecomer, Kao Kalia Yang now retells the life of her father Bee Yang, the song poet, a Hmong refugee in Minnesota, driven from the mountains of Laos by American's Secret War. Bee lost his father as a young boy and keenly felt his orphanhood. He would wander from one neighbor to the next, collecting the things they said to each other, whispering the words to himself at night until, one day, a song was born. Bee sings the life of his people through the war-torn jungle and a Thai refugee camp. But the songs fall away in the cold, bitter world of a Minneapolis housing project and on the factory floor until, with the death of Bee's mother, the songs leave him for good. But before they do, Bee, with his poetry, has polished a life of poverty for his children, burnished their grim reality so that they might shine.
Written with the exquisite beauty for which Kao Kalia Yang is renowned, The Song Poet is a love story -- of a daughter for her father, a father for his children, a people for their land, their traditions, and all that they have lost.


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Metropolitan Books (May 10, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627794948
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627794947

I very much enjoyed this book. It was very interesting reading about Kao Kalia Yang's experience growing up in the Hmong culture. I highly recommend it!